Confessions logo

Our Friendship

The sunset was flushed, disappearing inch by inch into the twilight haze, the light scarlet clouds,

By RuthValenciaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Our Friendship
Photo by Joseph Pearson on Unsplash

The sunset was flushed, disappearing inch by inch into the twilight haze, the light scarlet clouds, drawn off one by one, like colored marshmallows melting into the dark blue night ......

"Hey, hey, are you okay?" Knocked to the ground, I met her in that late afternoon, with slender eyelashes, big eyes full of worry, and fair skin. That exquisite face was just imprinted in my mind: "No, it's fine ......" "That's good, come on, let me help you up!" Her sweet smile melted into the afterglow of the sunset and the warm, afternoon breeze ......

She is called T and is my classmate, but before that, we can say that we have no relationship between the two people. The fact is that the actual people are very good, around the friends countless, which is typical of the public darling, and I? The personality is withdrawn, mute, and silent, in the eyes of everyone's "alien". The teachers ignored me, the students avoided me, and my sense of existence is extremely low.

After that incident, we got to know each other and gradually became friends. She was like a ray of sunshine that penetrated the dark clouds, warm and bright, lighting up my dull life.

As a child, I lived in a coastal city and always liked to sit on the rooftop with my sister and neighbors to see the flushed sunset in the distance into the sea: golden and blue, gorgeous as the church's stained glass. I looked at the sea with fascination and listened to my sister's tales of the sea, and time seemed to stand still at that moment.

One afternoon in August, T and I sat on a park bench eating cotton candy, watching the waves lapping at the golden sand not far away. Marshmallow gentle silk was blown by the sea breeze to the hair, the air is dense with sweetness, the sunset for her gilded, the corner of the mouth hidden smile makes her like a flower blooming in my life.

"Ah ...... not it? Just that weirdo?" "Yeah, haven't you heard? She is also worthy of being friends with T!"

I don't know when the gossip came into my life like a tidal wave, I was overwhelmed, and there was no way to refute it. I tried my best to avoid it, to run away from it, to hide in a corner and suffer in silence.

One day during the summer, T suddenly proposed to go to the movies together, which has been "hiding in the corner" I was a little panicked, hurried, and flattered.

The morning went by quietly, looking at myself in the mirror, my carefully combed hair, my favorite blue dress, as if I was a different person from my usual self, the girl in the mirror even secretly smeared her mother's lipstick, as if she was going to an important party.

The sunlight showed me the way, and when I passed by the small store selling printed books, I bought the book that she had been talking about for a long time and ran with broken steps to the small park where I had agreed to meet.

I was anxiously looking at the phone in my hand on the bench, "The user you have called is switched off" "Duh, duh duh duh ......" I scanned the crowd, frantically searching for the figure. The thin tall girl wearing headphones, the sunset, looking at the unanswered phone, I collapsed helplessly on a bench, the sun sprinkled on the body, how intimate and familiar, things are different, my heart is filled with endless desolation ......

Someone called me, turned around, and saw T standing there with an ugly face: "Ah, you finally came? I brought you ......" "Let's ...... cut off our friendship."

Next to her stood a girl with eyes full of sarcasm and disdain, and I seemed to understand what ......

Later, my parents took me away from that seaside city, and I never saw her again. We went apart, scattered in that piece of gossip drowned on the edge of the blue sea.

Friendship
Like

About the Creator

RuthValencia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.