Confessions logo

One Year Anniversary

A Year of Healing and Growth

By Terri AllenPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
2

It’s been an entire year now since I was at my absolute worst mental state I’ve ever been in and I don’t think I would have survived without my amazing support system. I won’t get into much details about what happened but I will say that I trusted someone that I shouldn’t have and it didn’t go well. Then only a few months after that my beloved pet rabbit Cotton passed away suddenly for an unknown reason. So I was at a low point.

But it’s been a whole year now and I wanted to look back at all the positives so that I can remind myself that it does get better.

So I wanted to start by saying that I’ve been making big jumps in my therapy sessions and I’ve been learning loads of different ways to cope with my past traumas. My therapist is truly amazing with the way that she knows exactly what to say to make me feel better and she holds me accountable for the things I say in our sessions. We always have a few minutes in our sessions where we talk about our weeks and there’s always time to talk about the positives. Her and her boss went truly above and beyond to help me get myself back in order this time last year. I will never be able to repay them for their kindness.

Since Cotton passed away Halo has been free roaming in the room and I’ve really seen her shine. She sleeps on the bed with me and she tries desperately to be as close to me as she possibly can, going so far as to be on my arm and lying on my pillow beside me. She’s become the most loving, happy and carefree rabbit she can be. Every night where I get to fall asleep with her in my arms is a blessing and she’s helped me more than anything in grieving her big sister.

I have the best possible friends in the world, Hayley and Danielle, and from the second I met them both I’ve been able to tell them anything. They are both so fully and completely on my side it actually hurts. I would do anything for them both and I hope they both know that.

The thing I’m most proud of is something my therapist loves to remind me and that is that through the entire year since I’ve never once lost myself. I’ve been focusing more on my writing than ever before, posting more articles and working towards finally editing my novel. I have been posting more Tik Tok videos on my page as well trying to drum up more writer and reader interest in my page. I have been setting myself small goals and bigger goals that I can work towards everyday.

The main thing that I think convinced me to get better overall was my sheer lack of refusal to let a man dictate how I live my life. I refused to relinquish control of my future to a person that thinks they can control another person. I faced bigger and badder things in my life and I am yet to face some others but I am in full control of the lessons I learn from them. I will never let another person tell me what I can and can’t achieve, I will never let a person think that they kick me down and I won’t get right back up again even stronger.

Aa my therapist always likes to remind me, my past experiences will be a part of someone else's survival guide.

Secrets
2

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Terri Allen is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.