Confessions logo

Never made to measure.

When you never quite fit in.

By Serena DPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
4

Never fitting in, has never been a momentary discomfort for me. More of a way of life.

As a child, I was so shy and at least a foot taller than my counterparts.

I had a long, thin awkward body, which I hunched, twisted and folded, just to be eye to eye with my friends.

When I was older and started making that body work for me, I still didn't fit in. I was a mediocre model (not thin enough, or too thin. Not tall enough or too tall).

As a model, girls hated me on sight, and their boyfriends weren't allowed to talk to me.

Oh how I dreamed of being normal.

Looking back to my 20s, it is gut wrenching.

The years had vigorously erased my self esteem.

It was no longer my body that didn't fit. I now truly believed that everything about me was wrong.

Every element that made Sarah,was distorted, disgusting and broken.

I saw myself as nothing.

As I matured it was necessary to create a persona.

I made a fake me, that would be accepted.

A self deprecating humour to put the girls at ease.

I Curbed my intelligence and curiosity and constantly asked the boys to explain.

After many years of honing this super girl personality. I actually convinced myself that this girl was me.

Still playing my epic role, like an Oscar winning actress, I married and had children.

Executing being someone you are not, 24 hours a day, year after year. Adapting your role daily to please others is not sustainable.

Believe me! I tried.

Beneath the surface, I was rotting, crumbling, falling apart. Something was starting to stink.

I couldn't ask for help. I couldn't break my 'normal' reflection in the mirror.

If the mirror smashed, I would be broken, distorted Sarah again.

My mind was spiralling out of control, my behaviour becoming unpredictable.

I thought I was still putting on a good damn show.

I never imagined people noticed me enough to see the damp tissues stuck to cuts on my arms.

I never questioned whether they believed my endless stories as to where my bruises came from.

Once more I didn't fit. I was so full of pain and confusion. Everyone else looked happy and at peace.

I would go to the shops and just stare at people.

I didn't understand why they looked so happy. I was in agony. Just being in a store for me was like battling a dragon.

Forgive me for these words, but I just wanted to die. I needed it to end.

Luckily, I didn't die. Somehow I found a tiny essence of Sarah, and I asked my doctor for help.

I remember the exact words I said:

"If you don't help me, I will be dead tomorrow"

I was admitted to a locked psychiatric ward.

I was so frightened, but funnily enough, I fitted right in!

I was diagnosed with a psychotic episode, bi polar and OCD.

I won't lie, I spent 5 glorious weeks in that sweet, safe bubble. I started necessary medication and therapy.

I saw a tiny light, at the end of a very long tunnel.

When I left, I was far from perfect, but I was a more real me, than I had been in 15 years.

Still, it seems it is not my destiny to fit in.

Walking for the first time, since my release, with a hidden joyful skip in my step, I went to collect my brave children from school.

I headed towards my usual year group mums, a genuine smile on my face.

The tidal wave of their discomfort hit me.

I physically recoiled at their looks of horror.

Some with no embarrassment, turned their back and crossed the playground.

Others I had considered 'mum' friends, shot me apologetic looks, but also scuttled as far from me as possible.

Me, the freak, I stood frozen, my breathing was irregular and my eyes filled with burning tears.

These women, wore t shirts saying 'Be kind', they forwarded inspirational quotes on WhatsApp about women supporting one another.

They demanded diversity and acceptance at school meetings.

Sorry, but can I call BULLSHIT?

I inhaled my pain, and exhaled a huge smile for my kids running towards me.

I still don't fit...well I am officially crazy! (I'm allowed to say that).

The difference is, that now I don't care. You want to be my friend? Come and fit in with me.... Nah only joking, I'll take anyone.

Embarrassment
4

About the Creator

Serena D

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.