Confessions logo

My Weight loss Journey start

An entry to my weight loss journey

By Brandi LansdownePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
My Weight loss Journey start
Photo by i yunmai on Unsplash

This is a tough thing for me to talk about. There is so much hate for those who are dealing with food addiction. I have been dealing with food addiction for so long I cannot remember a time when I was not addicted to food. The last few years I have been trying to deal with it. There has been plenty of times when I attempted to deal with and lose the extra weight. My biggest fear was being over 300 pounds until one day I discovered I was at my heaviest of 352 pounds. Which surprised me and I panicked and freaked out. Currently, I am at 323.4 pounds. Over the past few years, I keep bouncing between 310 and 330 pounds. I looked through what I have been doing and what been causing it to bounce. After some checking I noticed that I did better when I was keeping track of my eating then when I was not, so I am attempting once again to keep track and sticking by it.

I do know the outcomes of these actions. Such as a heart attack or diabetes. I am already predisposed to diabetes due to three of my direct family members already have it. I have seen what it does, and I am working in the medical field in where I have seen patients who has it and what happens when such a disease is not managed. I do not like it at all. There have been times where I imagined it being me instead of them. I do not like the image that I have seen. It scares me and I think it has scared me enough to try to change my lifestyle enough to lose the weight and change my life for the better.

I decided that there are deeper issues that are at play. The only thing I can think that might be causing all of this is that I am depressed, and the food addiction is the cover for it. Like most addictions it is a cover for something deeper and it is simply different covers. Addiction is just a cover for the pain one is hiding. I have been asking myself the hard questions, trying to figure out why. Part of it is because I am not as active as I can be. I think it might be partly due to being raised to eat a lot and not being so active. I have taken into consideration about going to therapy to help with the underlaying issues that causes me to look for comfort in food.

Maybe I do eat when I am bored and need something to do to keep my mind off food. That is something that I am considering. I have got a planner to list all kinds of things that I could be doing to help. While at the same time I think about projects that can be done at home that could be broken down into smaller tasks to get it down without overwhelming myself. I think apart of the rest because I eat is because I am overwhelmed with all the things that needs to be down, but I am looking at it as one big project, not little tasks to get it done. After trying this I have noticed that I am not as overwhelmed as I was before. Maybe part of the reason why I eat so much is due to being stressed out about things and just needing a way in helping me get things done without being stressed out enough to eat instead of getting things done like they are supposed to.

The changes that I have taken already is started to be more active and doing more things that would cause me to not think about food. In a way I am eating less and less and burning more calories. I have decided to check my weight on a weekly basis to ensure that I am losing the weight and if I were not, I would know. Sometimes I must be honest with myself to be able to get to where I want to be. Sometimes honesty at its best is the most brutal thing one can go through. It would hurt going through this journey but if I am to succeed then I must face the personal demons and get there.

Bad habits
1

About the Creator

Brandi Lansdowne

Podcast: blonde with a black streak

zazzle: hallowed Halloween

etsy: hallowed Halloween

twitch: thorin11233

instagram: gothie12

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.