Confessions logo

My Story

PTSD

By Maria JohnsonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
My Story
Photo by Olesya Yemets on Unsplash

This is my story. I will start by telling you that my story is not that pretty and it is harsh. It starts with me deciding that I wanted to be friends with my ex, with the hopes of winning him back. He called me one day over the summer just before freshman year, he asked if I was down to hang out and maybe do more. I said yes, which I later regretted. So we met at an abandoned house and talked for a while, then we started to kiss and remove clothing. He had me pinned to the floor and asked if I was ready I wanted to say no, I wanted to shake my head push him off me but I froze and he took that as a yes. Even when I put my hands on his chest trying to stop him he kept going, he finished and left me there. I got dressed and was too ashamed and scared to tell anyone so I kept my mouth shut. For years I kept that secret, I started having nightmares and was constantly afraid. I hated being touched and felt scared every time someone was interested in dating me. I felt like it was going to happen again. I finally let someone else in my life and I wanted to please him so I gave him whatever he wanted even if I didn’t want it. This includes sexual stuff, I started letting stuff happen to me without saying a word. Still having nightmares of my ex I just pushed it down and allowed this guy to continue using me. I finally had enough after 3 years of his bull, we broke up but I still allowed all of my ex’s use me. The guy after him was a single father. We dated for a little bit before he got me drunk down by the river and took advantage of me. I finally called it off when he tried to put me in the middle of his baby momma drama. After him I again let guys use me for whatever they wanted, I allowed myself to be used for sex again. I allowed myself to be taken advantage of yet again. I have spent so much time and energy allowing this to consume me. I am now living my life no longer allowing guys to take what they want. I lost so much just cause I let myself think I had no self-worth, I let myself think I was worthless, I let myself think that no one would ever love me. I know now that you have to love yourself before you can allow anyone to love you. I do not take anyone bull anymore, I do not allow anyone to take advantage of me anymore. I have spent many years letting that happen and I no longer will deal with that bull. I am a woman, we are powerful. I have learned to love myself, I know my worth. I know what I want in life and I know I am done playing games with these boys and allowing them to take what they want. This story may make many people think less of me but I honestly stopped caring what people think and what they want. I tell this story because I want to get it off my chest and want to let others who have gone through or are going through a similar situation. I want to let them know that it is ok and that they are not alone.

Secrets
Like

About the Creator

Maria Johnson

I am a new published author trying to make it in the world

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.