Confessions logo

My Modeling Career

It was over before it even began.

By Sara ZaidiPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
7
Photo by https://unsplash.com/@tuvaloland

Ladies and Gentlemen of the Jury. I want to say, in my defense, I was very, very drunk when I decided to say this. On second thought- that’s not a real defense, is it? It was my own choice to get drunk, after all.

Ladies and Gentlemen of the Jury, I’m sorry. I have no defense for saying this. I can only apologize for my cringe-y-ness. And may I remind you that I have already served my punishment? Please be kind.

I am what some might describe as “Low Maintenance” in terms of my fashion choices. Others would say that I appear to have “Given Up Almost Entirely.” Both statements are equally apt. I also don't really prefer one over the other.

I go to a hair salon at most once a year. I make an active choice to pick stretch pants over denim jeans literally every day. Yes, there have been a few nights where I used a makeup wipe instead of washing my face with cleanser, and no I don’t ever prime my lids if I feel like putting on eye shadow.

To be honest, I wouldn’t mind putting in a little more effort some days, but as it turns out I have no skill at all in the beauty department. I mean I’ve whiled away hours watching hair/ makeup tutorials and practicing in front of a mirror. I even tried to use a ruler to keep my liner even and straight. It’s all been to no avail. I always end up looking like I allowed a toddler to paint my face. Suffice it to say I usually end up keeping things pretty basic.

It probably comes as no surprise to hear then, that when I have a special occasion to attend I pay a professional to do my hair and makeup. It’s a little pricier, but when I think of all the money I save by not buying new brushes, blenders, and replacement product on the regular I think I’m ahead. That, and the events I attend are few and far between.

The story I’m about to share happened in January 2019. This was pre-pandemic, when large group functions were still ethical. A friend was having an engagement bash in that lull weekend right after New Years and I decided I would get my hair and makeup done at the salon.

The process was just fine, fun even. The women working were bored stiff. It was a slow, cold night with not a whole lot going on. I think I was one of three clients in the whole place and they had hours to go before closing. I was there super early, and I decided I wanted the works.

I endured the pain of threading my brows and upper lip. I got a mani-pedi combo to match my outfit for the night. I got a full face of makeup including false lashes. Two women worked together to cut, color and curl my hair into copper ringlets.

I was already relishing being pampered this way, and then one of the women said to me, “Hey, N.P.C, we’re going to take a few pictures of your hair ok? From a couple of different angles. We post them on the salon’s social media page. You don’t mind, do you? You should follow us!”

Of course I didn’t mind. They did a really great job; my hair looked nice and shiny and bouncy. I don’t get to feel that feeling but once a year. You can hardly begrudge me that! Every now and then we're all allowed to feel good about how we look!

So I went to the party, still feeling myself. And as the night went on and we all got drunker (the bride-to-be’s brother was trying to fight her fiancé), and drunker (the groom-to-be’s dad was dancing with his wife riding his shoulders) I may have mentioned to a few friends and family that my look was going to be posted on a certain salon’s Instagram page.

I may have used the expression “Hair Model.” I may have also done an absolutely atrocious catwalk up and down the dance hall’s shiny parquet floors amid the hoots and hollers of my friends. I mean hand-on-hip, toes pointed; sashay, sashay, sashay.

Guys, I promise you, I meant it as a joke. I was just trying to get a laugh. I know, I was feeling myself and I was hammered, but I wasn’t completely delusional. I am painfully aware that I am not model material. I am prepared to admit however, that in a way that I absolutely detest about myself; I was just a teensy bit proud when I told them, too.

Regardless of my intentions, the problem was I said it. And when the party was over and we went our separate ways, people remembered I said it. When we were all stone sober, they remembered I said it.

They ask about it, actually. Often.

“Was it S**** Salon on Islington? The one by the Chase Bank?”

“Is this the right Instagram handle? Did I spell it right?

“Is that you? That doesn’t look at all like you.”

“It’s not you…?”

The salon never posted any of my pictures.

And even now, a few years afterwards, I occasionally run into people from the night of that engagement party. We catch up, make small talk but I will invariably get hit with some rendition of:

"Remember that salon you said you modeled for? Remember that? They ever get around to posting your pictures? No? I wonder why not. It’s okay, don't be embarrassed. It’s very, very challenging to be a Hair Model.”

I want to cry every single time.

Embarrassment
7

About the Creator

Sara Zaidi

"A human person from Toronto. Figuring it out. Hoping one day there's less to figure out. Find me at your local book store in the self-help section, in the fetal position. Offer me a hug, then walk away. It's probably for the best."

Go Dubs!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.