Confessions logo

My Long Biography

Here is more about me.

By Bonnie ChadwickPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Powwwow Dancing!

I started my Spiritual Awakening journey over 30 years ago.

I started seeking a more spiritual path after the birth of my beautiful daughter in 1990. Something was lacking and it was a deep spiritual connection, though at the time I couldn’t express it.

One day after a snowstorm, I was out on my cross-country skis and found myself in a grove of pine trees. The trees were laden with heavy, glistening white snow. I stared at the beauty of the scene around me and felt a real spiritual connection. The snow sparkled and twinkled in the bright sun. It felt magical. I felt like I had entered another world. An inviting, quiet, and calm world. From then on, I started seeking out these types of spiritual encounters.

I had always been curious and interested in Native American culture and beliefs and their ancient beliefs gelled with what I was experiencing. So, I made it my goal to seek out this and explore this connection.

I searched for powwows and local Native American groups to join. I was apprehensive not really knowing what to expect or the protocols when attending these events. One day while walking in the woods with my dogs, I came across these gorgeous feathers, scattered about on the ground. I felt bad because I knew a bird had lost its life, but I could not help but collect the gorgeous feathers and take them home.

I noticed a powwow was coming up later that month and decided to take the feathers with me to the powwow to identify them. I felt sure someone there would know what they were. I carefully wrapped several of the feathers in a cloth bag and attended the powwow. I saw a friendly-looking, older gentleman sitting watching the dancers. I approached him and asked if he could help me identify the feathers. He didn’t know but he took me to another gentleman who knew exactly what kind of feathers they were. They happened to be Barred Owl feathers. He told me to look at the edges of the feathers, they look like little combs on the end, which helps the owl fly stealthily through the forest. I gave both gentlemen a feather for their help.

I started attending more powwows and the first gentleman who helped me, introduced me to his wife. His wife, Quiet Fox became one of my best friends. She taught me how to dance, made me regalia and we are still friends to this day. She is a blessing in my life.

I also met a chief of the Metis people. I had him research my genealogy and found out he and I were distant cousins! I joined the Metis group. I learned so much from the group, the chief, and his wife.

I have been in sweat lodges, and talking circles; helped make a medicine wheel, had powerful visions, and made real connections with people like me. Those searching for a more spiritual way of life. I now go to powwows and dance like no tomorrow. I go camping, fishing, ice fishing, and ride my ATV through the beautiful countryside with my husband. I burn sage and say prayers to Creator and give thanks for Mother Earth. My soul is full and I continue to explore connections with nature, the spiritual realm, and our connection to each other and the universe.

One tip: The Great Mystery cannot be solved while here on Earth.

Friendship
Like

About the Creator

Bonnie Chadwick

Well, I dislike writing bios. Just not into writing about myself. I would rather help people and put a smile on their face. So this is me, I have a pretty great life, a great family, and the most adorable dog in the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.