Confessions logo

My International Friends

What a teenager experienced in few days.

By Ansuman Published 2 years ago 3 min read
3
My International Friends
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

"Friends", such a nice and beautiful word it is. No blood relation, no profit involvement, not from one place still one gives his life to save another's. A friend is one of the few people who will stand beside you from your first date to your baby's delivery.

Yes , today we are talking about friends . Generally , I try to avoid writing on these topics as I am not so good at expressing my emotions to people . I don't know how and why but only few people understands me . So, better to say people are selectively social in my case.

I turned 18 few days ago and in these 18 years I have made 2 close friends . Sometimes I approach towards people to start a friendship but every time I returned empty handed.

It's not us , sometimes it's the people that doesn't deserve us.

Last week I was cleaning my book shelf and red this quote somewhere . I randomly got a thought to make friends from abroad. So, after that I browsed "how to make friends online". I found many sites and applications for that out of which mostly were for dating purpose . But that was not my cup of tea.

,Finally I signed up my account on many different sites and after few minutes I also got friend requests from many people. After identifying the boats and humans I choose only one site to start conversation. That site was quite unique where one has to write a message and put that bottle in to sea and after that someone will receive that on another shore and if he or she accepts that then one can start a conversation.

I wrote several messages and put it into the sea and few people accepted .

Philippines

First person was from Philippines , a 34 years old environment officer . Basically she was also a new user , we started talking

Me- Hii.

She-Hello from the Philippines

Me- How are you doing.

She- Fine , WBU?

I got awkward as I didn't know how to start a ca a conversation. Perhaps she realized what's going in my mind.

She- So, what are you doing these days .

Me- I am waiting for university to open , What about you .

She- I am tired of todays work . I want to sleep .

Me- It's ok , have a sound sleep . Good night .

Indonesia

I got a bottle from Indonesia , this time a 17 year old girl . Here's how the conversation goes .

She - Hello friend.

Me- How are you my friend .

She- I am new to this application , have you made real friends from this application . Is it really works .

Me- I am also new to this application , I think it really works .

She- So, tell me something about yourself .

Me- I am blah blah , from blah blah and I am doing blah blah . What about you.

She- I am blah blah , from blah blah and I am student of Psychology .

Me- Oo, nice .

She- Goes offline .

After that day I talked to many strangers from different points of the globe, from Germany to Australia and many more. But found some beautiful friends also, Jane from Nigeria, a from Nepal, and Sam from Indonesia. So, I got the realisation that there are billions of people on this planet and we are one of them. So, there must be at least a few thousand people like us and out of which few thousands of our age and too few hundreds, we can contact.

I needed only few friends , so it's not that much difficult to find some genuine ones online . After all I got success . If any one want to share something with me then you are most welcomed .

You just read Ans .

Friendship
3

About the Creator

Ansuman

18 years old who love to share his weird thoughts to the world.

I love reading novels , prefers Long conversations over short chats.

Over 1.3 M views on Quora and 1.4K readers on Medium.

Get connected with me Linktree

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.