Confessions logo

My Easy Baken Oven

Corrected a Childhood Memory

By The Vibe Podcast Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

So many things bothered me in my life especially being the daughter to a Murdered father. Was not easy growing up hated by everyone, it seemed like. Took me 38 years to find out why, upon the knowledge of my father’s murder I immediately decided to change my life and made changes geared towards a positive lifestyle. So many years of wanting to disappear for the first time ever.. I wanted to live! Was not easy but I am happy to report that in February, we will be celebrating one year of wellness! Congratulations!! I didn’t know I could do it but I knew last year I needed to make a change.. (look at the world) the last thing I want after living a traumatic life was to be like them. And now even more the importance of a positive lifestyle because I have children who did not ask to be born, it is an absolute must that I do not fail. This time around, I’ve go too much to lose.

I got two kids and a dog to look after. Rather than provide for them, I must put myself first so I can BE THERE to provide for them. I see myself as the structure, so I must be solid. I must be strong for my children who didn’t ask to be born.

Bottom line is upon the knowledge of my father’s murder I knew I needed to do better. I only have two examples in this life Murder & Trauma (Father & Mother) that’s not the life I want so I surrendered. I surrendered to God not man nor the idea of man’s Religion. I have been on a Spiritual Journey for nearly a year and I am happy to share what I have learned so far.

Do you believe in Miracles? I do, my Easy Bake Oven tells me so. My Easy Bake Oven tells me miracles are real in the form of the clock on the timer, 3:30.

For many years, if not my whole life I lived a life of sadness.

Abused as a child, my father was murdered when I was just a Toddler.. recipe for disaster, one would think. But I say this, God is greater than my disaster.

As a child every little girl wanted an Easy Bake Oven. I know I wanted one! And one Christmas I got one!! I was so happy until...

My abusive Step-Father stole it and converted it into something else. To this day I don’t understand why a grown up would take a child’s toy. He never asked for it nor apologized for taking it. My Easy Bake Oven was never replaced either. This kind of trauma is so unhealthy for a child. This could lead to deadly emotions.

There’s something evil and cruel about an Adult stealing from a child, I do not understand how in the world I ok’d this trauma for so long. What truly breaks my heart is knowing this goes on to this day. Children are still being abused so it is a must that I share my story in the hopes that others out there will read my story and catch on to some of the red flags of abuse and stop this behavior caused upon children. You do not steal (period) but stealing from a child is extra vile.

Chastisement can only come from God which is why I could never look back nor below, I must keep moving in wellness.

That experience traumatized me because I never understood how that was ok. Us children are to listen to Adults and I come home one day from school to find that my Easy Bake Oven had been turned into a lamp and was hanging outside from a tree!

I am from the country side of Corozal, Puerto Rico however this does not excuse what was done to my oven! Imagine the look on a child’s face as the reality set in. I no longer had an oven. I no longer have memories of baking, I only have the memory of it being stolen and hanging from a tree.. why do we treat children this way?

Something happens to you mentally when people just take what’s not theirs! This always bothered me for many many years.

After the knowledge of my father’s murder, I decided to correct my past immediately. I had to correct that horrible childhood memory.

Being a mother of two, I decided to buy a brand new Easy Bake Oven!

Correcting a childhood trauma while having fun with my kids.

I thought this was a great idea! Until I noticed the time on the Oven’s timer which is 3:30.. same date my father passed 3/30/83 or 3:30.. the time tells me my Father has never left my side. I feel this is true because now every time I look at the Easy Bake Oven, I no longer think about that horrible memory I think of my Dad and I feel special in knowing that he’s been with me all my life.. all of the 38 years he’s been gone, he’s actually been with me. Now I want to bake! Using my Easy Bake Oven of course!

Does not matter that I am 40, it is absolutely ok to fix childhood hurts and trauma. I encourage you to try to corrrect a childhood memory and see what you discover! Wellness matters and so do you!

Childhood
Like

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.