Confessions logo

My Backstory

Why I write

By S.N. EvansPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
My Backstory
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Devourer of books, that was my title. I read every book which interested me in our small-town public library. From third grade onward, I read everything from classic novels to fantasy and anything in between. Finally, when I felt I had read every book I wanted to read, I decided to write one myself. It was 2005, while I was in High School, and I wrote just as voraciously as I read. Much to the chagrin of my poor mother.

"If there's a book that you want to read, but it hasn't been written yet, then you must write it." - Toni Morrison.

I wrote so much that it began to disturb my grades, but nothing stopped me. I started working on my first novel, "Blood Red Sunset," a trilogy I have never completed. Reading it, as an adult, I cannot keep myself from cringing, but I wrote it. I still have it buried in a shoebox inside my garage. I plan on returning to it someday, but not anytime soon; the herculean revision task is daunting.

For the remainder of High School, I wrote a second novel, similar to the "Twilight" novels. It is unnamed and will never see the light of day. In hindsight, it is a dumpster fire of teenage angst and brooding. If a friend had not saved the notebook from the garbage can, there would be little proof of its existence. I took every English and Writing class I could take and graduated with sixteen English credits. I was headed to College to Major in English and Minor in writing.

When I went to College in 2008, I abandoned my writing for a time. Though, I did pursue academic writing and honed my grammar skills. I learned what made a good story. But, everything I had achieved up to this point was stowed on the back-burner, percolating.

I still kept a journal; I've always kept journals as a storehouse for my ideas. But, in there, a storm was brewing. I began accumulating the details and running a roleplaying campaign in 2011/2012 surrounding the subject of my first Christian Fantasy novel. I jokingly called it "Azriel," after the angel of death, but it will not be the final title.

In 2013, almost a decade since I completed that first novel, I began writing again (After a medical setback.) My new project was, surprisingly, a Christian fantasy novel. Nearly another decade later, it is still in editing and slowly coming together. I completed writing it last year, and this year is devoted to editing; I'm nearly halfway through. After that, I suppose it's time to look into publishing.

In 2021, I began writing, editing, and publishing short stories. This is my tenth submission to Vocal Media, a milestone achievement for someone who often doubts her ability. Seeing my writing bring joy to others was the encouragement I needed. Currently, my focus is on submitting to competitions and continuing my series of short stories.

The Thyrame Chronicles are set in a strange fantasy world. The stories follow humans, inhumans (faeries, elves, and dwarves), and monsters through a cataclysm. A mysterious blight threatens both Thyrame and its sister nation of Lolandil. What heroes will rise to save them? These are their stories. If this interests you, please feel free to give it a read. The first two stories are already submitted with a third on its way.

  1. Hero of Dayne
  2. Inhuman

Thank you to anyone and everyone who has read or continues to read my work. I pray it brings as much joy to all of you reading as it does to me to write. I pray it glorifies God.

Humanity
2

About the Creator

S.N. Evans

Christian, Writer of Fiction and Fantasy; human. I have been turning Caffeine into Words since 2007. If you enjoy my work, please consider liking, following, reposting on Social Media, or tipping. <3

God Bless!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Emmie Falbo2 years ago

    I am a beginner writer, right now, I am in college for something I no longer want to do, and I just added a creative writing minor to increase my writing ability. I admire the dedication that you have put into your writing. I have been focusing on only short stories, but I hope to publish a book one day.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.