Confessions logo

My Anxiety'

"A Constant Companion"

By Isra SaleemPublished 23 days ago 3 min read
1
My Anxiety'
Photo by Massimiliano Sarno on Unsplash

For as long as I can remember, anxiety has been my constant companion. It's like a shadow that follows me everywhere, always lurking in the background, waiting to pounce. Some days it's a gentle hum, a nagging feeling in the pit of my stomach. Other days it's a full-blown attack, leaving me breathless and paralyzed.

I've tried to ignore it, to push it away, to distract myself with work or hobbies. But it's always there, waiting for its moment to strike. And when it does, it's like a tidal wave crashing over me, leaving me feeling helpless and alone.

I've tried to understand it, to rationalize it, to tell myself it's just a feeling and it will pass. But it's hard to shake the feeling that it's something more, something deeper. Like a voice in my head, whispering doubts and fears, telling me I'm not good enough, that I'm a failure.

I've tried to talk to people about it, to share my struggles with friends and family. But it's hard to put into words, hard to explain the feeling of being trapped in your own mind. And sometimes, I feel like they don't get it, like they think I'm just being dramatic or attention-seeking.

So I've learned to hide it, to put on a mask and pretend everything is okay. But it's exhausting, like carrying a heavy weight around with me everywhere I go. And sometimes, the mask slips, and people see the real me, the anxious me.

It's hard to remember a time when I didn't feel this way. Was I always anxious, or did something trigger it? I've tried to pinpoint the moment it started, but it's like trying to find a needle in a haystack.

I've tried therapy, medication, meditation, and mindfulness. Some days it helps, some days it doesn't. But I keep trying, because I know I'm not alone. I know there are others out there who feel the same way, who are struggling to keep their heads above water.

And so, I keep moving forward, one step at a time. I try to focus on the present moment, to let go of the worries about the future or regrets about the past. I try to be kind to myself, to remind myself that I'm doing the best I can.

And some days, it works. Some days, the anxiety recedes, and I feel like myself again. Like the sun has come out from behind the clouds, and I can see the world in all its beauty.

But other days, it's a struggle. Other days, the anxiety is like a weight that's crushing me, suffocating me. And all I can do is hold on, hold on to the hope that tomorrow will be better, that someday, somehow, I'll find a way to overcome this constant companion, this anxiety that follows me everywhere.

I'm learning to be patient with myself, to take things one day at a time. I'm learning to acknowledge my anxiety, to accept it as a part of me. And I'm learning to find ways to manage it, to keep it from consuming me. It's a journey, a long and winding road, but I'm determined to find my way.

And so, I'll keep moving forward, one step at a time. I'll keep trying, keep pushing, keep hoping. Because even on the darkest days, there's always a glimmer of light, a glimmer of hope. And that's what keeps me going, that's what keeps me fighting.

And in the end, that's all any of us can do - keep moving forward, one step at a time, and hold on to hope. Because with hope, anything is possible, even overcoming the constant companion of anxiety.

SecretsEmbarrassment
1

About the Creator

Isra Saleem

Versatile writer skilled in both tale & stories. Captivate readers with engaging content & immersive narratives. Passionate about informing, inspiring, & entertaining through words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran23 days ago

    Hey, just wanna let you know that this is more suitable to be posted in the Psyche community 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.