Confessions logo

Mothers Day Confession

Hey mom, I've never told you this before but...

By Selena BrooksPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

HEY MOM, I NEVER TOLD YOU THIS BEFORE BUT..

Remember the Saturday mornings back in 2004 when the golden sun poured through the kitchen window of the open plan kitchen, and you would yell at us if we made noise before 7am, so I learned how to make pancakes. By the time I was Eight, I was cooking pancakes for the Family at 8am every morning ALL BY MY SELF.

Well, I’m going to re – create those memories with my Children, only I’ll be there for them and it’s going to be fun. Because if there is anything I have learned in life it is that Love is worthy of time, and it is precious and some people just aren’t capable of it.

I speak 8 Languages for fun and have dreams to cover the planet. I'm fiercely independent, but I missed out on the memories that one looks back on with Love. The memories that I Love… are the ones that have taught me who I am today. I’m fiercely independent and adaptive and positive and capable and these memories of the pancakes don’t sound like much to others because.. well, where is the fun in learning to make food on your own at the age of 7? When I tell this story to people they say, “ I don’t understand, Where’s the Love? It sounds sad and boring”. To me, It’s a story of Loving myself and learning how to adapt and give to people that didn’t exactly deserve it, because, well… I didn’t know any better and more importantly.. why should my sparkle be dull?

Mom, I’m 25 now.. and I’ve just begun a Law degree…

I’m a large contrast from the girl who would ‘ in a fresher perspective’ ‘reward her parents with pancakes for not giving her the love she deserved.’

It's May 2022 now and the world is starting to function again. Romance isn't dead, but our future is quite uncertain. I spend my days walking through the park and breathing in the colourful Air, the smell and taste changing each day & telling its own story. I wish i could tell you about all the things that happen in my life that contribute to my maturing. Like getting to know celebrities away from the spotlight.. but maybe one day i'll find someone motherly to confide in. Life's better when you get to share it with people. For now, i'll have a croissant, take a deep breath and be a boss b*tch because thats where we women are at these days; women supporting women..to a degree. I've never told you how much i wanted success, or how far i've come.. i find that these achievements are best utilised within, and that we are our own #1 fan.

It's the 10th of May, i'm sitting at the sun drenched table, fingers fleeting away at the keyboard. I look down to see a small wooden spoon, and with that, the idea was in fruition.

I spend the next two hours in the kitchen cooking nourishing Asian recipes & after a long day of Acing Law school i'm even booking tickets for a show on the weekend. Mom..you wouldn't recognise me if you saw me. I'm happier than ever and the cat is still thriving whilst the bank account is rising.

Mum i'm going to leave this here; Just know that when you picture me, i'll be covered in the sun of Italy, eating pasta with my feet up and my hair down.. wondering how i landed a life like this one right now.

Family
Like

About the Creator

Selena Brooks

Giving you an insight into my life, Via my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.