Confessions logo

MORE THAN ENOUGH

Forever enough

By Ibharalu PeacePublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
MORE THAN ENOUGH
Photo by Atsushi Tsubokura on Unsplash

I came into the world with a big smile. I sleep with smiles, i wake up with smiles. I wondered why i wasn't named smile. Smile was very precious to me, any day i didn't smile I would fall sick.

This smile was on my face because of two people in my life. I felt i was nothing without them. They were always there for me, ready to put a smile on my face. My papa and my only sis were my best friend. Whenever i was in school, i always thought about them. I could hardly concentrate on my work, i couldn't wait for the bell to be jingled for closing time. I loved them so much. I never had any other friend in my life apart from them cause they were enough.

I heard my mama speaking on the phone with my papa, and he said he was coming the next day. I was so happy, i ran to my sister and i told her the good news. She was also glad but i was always the happiest to hear that my papa was coming home. I did all my house chores on time and finished my assignment on time too. I couldn't wait for the day to be over, for a new dawn to break. The next day, i was the first to wake up, i came down from my bed, i knelt down and i prayed. I thanked God for a brand new day, i thanked him for providing the two best friends in my life, i asked him to bring my papa home safely (AMEN). I brushed my teeth, had my bath and wore the new dress my mama just sewed for me. I went downstairs, and i saw mama praying. I went to call my sis and together, we all did devotion. Daddy came immediately after the devotion and went to to show him my new dress, he said it was very beautiful and we both smiled. I carried the bag in his hand and i off loaded the things inside. I saw a beautiful shinning wrist watch, my papa came over to me and said that he bought it for me. I was so glad and i told him "thank u papa" and i prayed for him in my heart. He gave my sister novels cause she loved reading novels and he gave my mama shoes. We were all happy.

It was time to eat breakfast. My mama and sis were setting the table and i was with papa, telling him all that had happened while he was away. Mama called us to the table and we all sat down. Papa blessed the food and we ate. We talked and laughed while we ate, we were all happy to have papa back.

Sunday was here already, everyone was getting ready. I always wore my most beautiful and fancy dress whenever papa was around, he would compliment my dress with a big smile. The driver drove us to church. When we got to church, I held papa and my sis hand, I wanted to sit in between them. My papa gave me a duty of doing the joltings for him. I listened to the pastor carefully and i jolted down necessary information. Church was over and we all headed home.

Monday was here and it was time for me to go to school. Papa was also going back and i was very sad. I wished I could follow him but I couldn't. I have always told him that I want to follow him but he would tell me to finish school first and for me, school felt like forever. When I got to school, I was already feeling very sick. My mama came to pick me and she took me to the doctor. Later that day, my sis visited me and I smiled cause I was happy to see her. The doctor came to check on me and he was surprised, he told my mama that I was fine. I was happy and deep down I knew that smile was the cure to any sickness I had.

The driver came to pick us up. When we got home, my mama and sis headed towards the kitchen. My sis told me to go to my room to rest. I rushed to my room and I took the wristwatch papa bought for me. It was so beautiful, I kept on admiring it until my sis came into my room. I was shocked to see her with a tray and when she came closer, it was my favourite food. She sat beside, gave me the food, stood up and put her phone where we could both see it clearly. We were watching a movie, yea...and it was a horror movie, yea........ I was so happy. We held each other whenever it got very scary, we laughed a lot. When the movie was over, we noticed it was raining, we snuck out to play in the rain. It was so interesting, we held each other's hand and and sang and laughed. She told me never to fall me again. After a while, we went inside to shower and we came down for night prayer.

Weeks passed and mama told us that papa called and said he was coming, I was so delighted. I couldn't wait for him to come and as usual, i did my chores and assignment quickly. I kept on waiting but papa didn't come. I went to mama and asked her if papa called again and she said no. Two days passed and we didn't hear from papa, I became sad and I started falling sick gradually. A week later, mama got a call, I thought it was papa but after the call, she started crying and she told us not to worry, everything would be fine. We asked her what happened and she told us sadly that papa was involved in an accident and he didn't make it. I fainted immediately she finished her sentence and I was rushed to the hospital. My mama and sis visited every day and soon, i was discharged.

We were all dressed up, ready for the burial. During the burial, we all cried, cried and cried. After the burial, my sister and held each other, screaming and crying, we never thought of living without papa. Mama came to us and hugged.

Two weeks later, the driver dropped me and I came into the house smiling cause we were on holiday. I saw mama sitting down and reading the bible, I greeted her and I went to my room. Dinner was ready, mama blessed the food and we ate quietly. My sis and i cleared the table and we did the dishes together. It was time for night prayer and after that, we all headed to our rooms. The following morning, we all came down for morning devotion. After the morning devotion, we started our chores. During our chores, it began to rain. My sis and i finished our chores quickly and went out to play in the rain. Mama called us in but we begged her to allow us to play small. We ran round the streets happily and we got carried away, we didn't notice the cars passing. While running, a car ran over my sister. I looked back and I screamed. It felt as if the world has ended. Mama heard me screaming and she rushed out, after some time my sis was rushed to the hospital. The doctor said she couldn't make it. I screamed, I couldn't leave without my papa and sis, I felt hot tears rolling down my cheeks, I felt like disappearing.

After my papa and sis passed away i was so sad, i cried everyday and i fell sick often. On a special Sunday, the pastor thought from the book of Jeremiah, he read verse 5 which says before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee, and before thou camest forth out of the womb i sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations. When i got home, i remembered the verse, i got my bible and I read it again and again. I started thinking. God brought me into this wonderful and United family, he put that smile on my face. He gave me a wonderful sister and papa, he made them to love. I began asking God for mercy, I had seen everything the wrong way. God was the one putting the smile on my face. He loved me so much but I didn't realise it, i didn't reciprocate his love. I asked God for mercy, I thanked him for loving me, I promised to serve him for the rest of my life, and I did.

Weeks passed, months passed, years passed and I discovered that God was more than enough.

Family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.