Confessions logo

Minimalism

getting rid of shit

By Candace GomezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Minimalism
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

Imma tell you right now; this tale wont be fancy, it wont be cute. Its full of angst and anxiety. I moved in with my boyfriend, oh excuse me "partner" is that better? A year and half ago. When my daughter and I moved in we had a car full of stuff and that is it. Partly due to extreme circumstances but mostly because I am ok not having a lot of stuff. Good thing since my...ahem...partner is the opposite.

Keeps every god damn thing just in case. Really do you need a receipt from Walmart stating you bought a spiral notebook for .99 in 1997?

Okay I went real dramatic in a short period of time to cause y'all to flock over here and read. My most viewed post is like 15. That's sad.

Okay, so what makes me happy, whats my project that I do that gets me tingly. THROWING HIS SHIT AWAY. Not just his stuff either. I basically get off when i can throw wrappers away, I use the last of the milk and I can jump on the jug. I love throwing things away! Then begs the conundrum of my profoundly paradoxical ways and would love to reduce the amount of trash I accumulate over the course of a week! WARNING: this may be impossible with two teenagers and a 7 year old running the house. Ill stick with my first love of throwing it all away.

What this is not good enough for a "create your happiness challenge?" Of course it is. My happiness is what I want it to be and if I cant wipe off the biggest grin when I empty out a file cabinet, than you can't make a quilt and you cant collect Tupperware.

Almost every single week I take some time out of one of my dys off and organize something, remember though, organize = throw away. You don't need it.

Here is the big kicker, even if we do need it in the future we have the money to buy another one that's not 26 years old, full of dust and broken or greasy or been eaten by rats.

Ready for the reason I am agressively hitting the keys on my laptop and fiercely striving towards my minimum character so this can be over and i can go do exaactly what I am writing about?

I come home and there i the clipboard that i had thrown away yesterday sitting on the counter. Here are the multiple issues with this besides the obvious of pulling it out of the trash, although I understand this becasue I have often thrown things away and he now knows to check the trash to see of there is anything he wants to keep.

1. Pulled out of trash ( went over how this is okay)

2, it was not even his to beging with, I got it from work and threw it away here so they woouldnt know

Yes before you point it out I already know this may be my problem. Let me correct you; this is my happiness. Throwing things away. Don't live a life of clutter, don't save things becasue you might need something in 6 years. for effing sake people please stop this madness.

It usually starts on a Monday. I tackle the big jobs first, they make the most difference. Once the big jobs are done I then settle into smaller ones but by the time the smaller ones are done than the big one is overloaded again with, do you smell it? CRAP!

I really don't understand and cant get behind this way of thinking. I have talked to a therapist. I need to find other ways to make me happy but for now I'm good.

Live happily and throw shit away !

Secrets
Like

About the Creator

Candace Gomez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.