Confessions logo

Maybe It is My Last Letter to You Mom

May god forbid it

By Mehedi Hasan ShawonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Maybe It is My Last Letter to You Mom
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Dear mom,

Hope God keeps you healthy. I haven't seen my father since I was little. You raised me and cared for me. I have learned patriotism from you. You wanted me to be an army member and serve the country. According to your wishes, I am now serving in the Army. Now the country is at war. I don't know if my letter will reach you. I never thought I would face such a situation. I participated in the war.

Every moment in the army camp here is very scary. The enemy can attack us at any time. When I was a kid, you worried about me when I got hurt. But look, now I'm living with a death warrant. Maybe I can't go back to you. I miss you so much, mother. You may also secretly shed tears remembering me. I told my friend the soldiers, if I die in battle, let my body reach you.

I know you always think of me. Bless me, mother, that I may return to you at the end of the war. I want to live with you for many years, mom. My friend lost two legs in the battle yesterday. On the battlefield, he shouted, "I want to go home." His condition is critical. He may not survive. But I want to live, mom. Soon the war will be over and I will go to you.

Before joining the army, I thought, I will fulfill my duty with heroism and pride. If necessary for the country, I will sacrifice my life. But the day I joined the army, you hugged me and cried. I cried too. Since that day I have become mentally weak. Now I always remember your weeping face. I want to live with you.

I don't want to die soon, mom. Many of the soldiers who joined the war with me are no longer alive. There is no guarantee of anyone's life here. Anyone can die at any moment. I always keep your picture in my shirt pocket. When the mind wants to see you with your picture in hand. I know, maybe you always look at me with my picture in your hand.

If I die in battle, I wish I could die with your picture in my hand at that moment. I hope to see you on the eve of death. How many memories of you are frozen in the corner of my mind. I'm not good here without you mom. Whenever I go home on vacation you feel very happy. You waited for me to return home.

Maybe you're still waiting for me. You may be preoccupied with 'when will I get home?' Don't worry mom, I'll be back home. Maybe in the guise of a hero or a coffin, I will return to you. You don't have to worry about me, Mom. As a child, I could not eat anything other than the food you cooked. But now I have learned to eat without you.

I wrote a poem about you. I don't know if you can read this poem, but I'm still writing–

You mean, like to me,

A little sunlight in the cloud-covered sky.

You mean, like to me,

A little bit of moonlight in the night.

You mean, like to me,

A little shelter from the terrible flood.

You mean, like to me,

A little receipt amid many unattainable things.

You are the only one in my existence,

I am non-existent without you.

Stay by my side all my life,

In the middle of this deep heart,

You are hiding.

My life will come to a halt,

If you don't.

Mom, I love you so much.

You mean, like to me,

Deep trust in this selfish world.

You mean, like to me,

Lots of love.

Mom, I love you so much.

I don't know if I'll see you again. If we are not seen alive then maybe we will be seen in heaven, mom. Forgive me if I have made a mistake or committed a crime. I know that you are praying to God for me, that I may return to you. May your blessings be with God, mom. I am finishing writing here today. I'll write to you again if I'm alive.

Your dear son,

David.

Family
Like

About the Creator

Mehedi Hasan Shawon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.