Confessions logo

Life in the COVID-19 Era

How I dealt with constant death and anxiety

By Curtis GreenePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Curtis meditating

In March of 2020 my life changed forever when COVID-19 and it Detroit the reaction was very similar to Sandra Bullock’s movie “Birdbox” or “Outbreak” it was complete chaos 1 pound of beef was being sold for at $10. There was no toilet paper for sale and people were going broke at unbelievable rates there was no doubt in my mind that the end would come any day. I thought I was a dead man for sure. 12 people I know personally died from COVID-19 and my biological and only older brother caught it and almost died he called me scared and my strong demeanor comforted him though I secretly thought he was going to die.

I started reading even more and wondering what the higher purpose was in all of these unthinkable events taking place daily. Detroit was the hardest hit of all places in the country and stayed in the top three for nearly a whole year. My mother and many other non-essential workers were not getting unemployment benefits at first and they were in a panic. But after a while I found myself like I never have did before in the middle of a pandemic it was the oddest thing. I found myself passing out PPE and I was working on President Biden’s campaign I saved enough money for about year to live on. It was discouraging to watch the people we elected because NONE of them had a plan for a pandemic.

I was blessed in the midst of the storm and I’m forever grateful and humbled that I did not have to endure having zero dollars for months when money is so very important. I began speaking life over people urging people to be positive. And it was like magic as I told people to keep their heads to the sky they started to believe that things would be ok if they just would listen to governor Gretchen Whitmer‘s instructions. I helped to create an energy in the black community where people were tired of being held hostage by COVID. I realized that this was the work of the universe challenging our resolve testing us to see were we still worthy to exist. When I got my first vaccination shot I posted the picture to my Facebook and made a filter that stated “I got first my COVID vaccination” the caption said lol “Pfizer OG.” Then I took a lot of heat from people who thought I was selling out to the white man because I wanted to live life and go on dates again. I was dragged but I persevered. Now many of the people who came for me are fully vaccinated and use a filter that says fully vaccinated.

Full Vax Green New Deal

COVID-19 has been a gift and a curse to me. It took away all the *ull*hit and gave me the ability to see that life is love. You have to be able to take criticism to lead because of the efforts of myself and a few others Detroit’s COVID contraction rates are way down. I’m grateful that I could be a part of helping my city. COVID made me the best man I could ever be because it forced me to have a heart and care about my people like I’ve ever done before. Though I’ve been dedicated to improving the mindset in my community for 8 years at the top of my awards, degrees, and shiny things what I did for humanity during the COVID-19 era is my greatest accomplishment and I didn’t receive a dam dime or recognition. But I’m happier than I’ve been I’m at completely peace and it’s the most beautiful state-of-mind ever. COVID set me free.

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.