Confessions logo

In time, we are all in a hurry

Life

By JoansPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
In time, we are all in a hurry
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

Shallow time, jumping words, a few warmth, a quiet and peaceful, keep a quiet heart, not stained sad.

--The caption

A friend with a good relationship told me the other day that he wanted to quit his job. I suddenly remembered that three years ago in the summer, he gritted his teeth and bought a train ticket without a seat, holding a shoulder bag with a resume squatting at the door of the carriage bathroom. That year, my friend just turned 22, he went all the way south to Guangzhou, just to participate in a company's job fair.

I will never forget the day he got the offer, we were sitting in the canteen eating, he suddenly grabbed my arm and told me: he passed!

He didn't finish his meal that day, and even the saliva he sprayed on my face hadn't dried up yet, he jumped up and down holding his phone and called his family, and then still found it hard to calm his emotions, and clicked on his circle of friends, writing and deleting numerous times, and finally sent out an incoherent circle of friends.

I don't have any doubt that no matter how many offers he received afterwards, the excitement, thrill and joy he felt at that moment of the year would never be repeated, and it was a precious moment worth remembering in his life.

Not long after my friend got the offer, we graduated. He went to Guangzhou with the enthusiasm of a brat, and so did I. After getting the first offer of my life, my pride and joy began to expand infinitely. With the most impatient impulse, we plunged into the workplace with a jolt, taking the first step in the workplace with student-like naivety and aspirations for a new life.

For a long time after that, my friend and I were exchanging frequent surprises brought by our work across WeChat. We were both the same, from the lazy kid who often hid in the last row to sleep in the classroom, we transformed into good employees who hugged the materials and asked for advice and study cautiously.

We quickly became familiar with everyone in the new environment, envied those colleagues who were handy with their work, and admired the decisive and steady leaders. That summer, for the first time, my bank card "fell from the sky" more than 2,000 yuan, obviously a month of work, but I was as happy as if I had picked up a big bargain for a long time.

In fact, I can't remember when my enthusiasm for my work began to fade, and I can't remember when my friends stopped showing off excitedly with me because they won a project.

I can't remember when our satisfaction with the new environment turned into endless griping, and those days of staying up late and working overtime like chicken blood no longer brought us the joy of accomplishing our goals. We all started to have the idea of "quitting", started to stay up for life, and started to want to get rid of this difficult job. It seems that none of us ever remembered that the ordinary job in front of us was the most grounded ideal we had in our early twenties, and we all forgot how hard we had worked to quickly adapt to the complete strangeness of everything, and how lazy we were afterwards, so that our lives became very different from our dreams.

In fact, the work itself has not changed, become the hearts of the people, become the ideal. We once pitied those adults who had no ambition from the bottom of our hearts, but later, the vast majority of us, indulged in a humdrum life. We thought that doing nothing and being idle was happiness, so we threw away the initial dream to go all out, in order to succeed on the ground, willing to pay more for a better life we.

I think of a cleaning aunt I know at work, 45 years old, working for more than twenty years. In the most grassroots position, she took on the burden of work far beyond my expectation. She lives in the building where she works, no matter how late, as long as there is an unusual sound in the building, her first reaction, always come out to see. I asked her: " Are you tired? " She said: " Tired, but you know what, I love my job. This job lets me know what I am worth.

"For everyone, the value of existence is different, and no one will ever jump out and accuse us of living an easy life is a mistake, but as long as you have regrets about your dreams, as long as you still feel that the current state is not what you want, as long as you feel that slacking off is not the best choice for you, then it is worthwhile, think about the scene when you got your first job in life. Perhaps, we still have many, many halfway efforts. In time, we are all in a hurry, please don't waste the rest of your life.

Family
1

About the Creator

Joans

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.