Confessions logo

Importance of Your Loved Ones

Do you spare time for your loved ones?

By Unbounded SoulPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Importance of Your Loved Ones
Photo by Jiyeon Park on Unsplash

Sometimes, You may hear something like this -

  • “I am occupied in an urgent meeting, I’ll callback you later.”
  • “I can’t talk right now, I am with my friends/family.”
  • “I am busy. I will talk to you later.”

These were my words to someone close to my heart a decade and I regret saying them every day in my life. I regret that I was unable to spare a few moments for someone I loved. Still, I live in guilt for these words of mine.

Sometimes we get so busy in our life and work we find it hard to spend our time with our near and dear ones. Most of the time we think, there is no hurry. We can finish all our work and then spend our time with our loved ones, it will keep our relationship healthier. But what if that person won’t be there when you spare some time for him/ her! What if you never get a second chance to express your gratitude or feelings or love!

I would like to share one incident from the diary of my life which makes me feel guilty till now, which makes me regret my words each other day. Shelby was my childhood best friend and we were like best buddies. We met the first time when we were in kindergarten school and became very close friends within no time. We used to share every single thing that was happening in our life. She was very sweet and was always coming forward to help me and vice versa. We had experienced all shades of life like ups and downs together. It doesn’t matter wherever we were but we used to go to meet each other every 10–15 days and we used to talk almost every day. Not only us, but both of our families are also still close.

In the year 2017 on the occasion of friendship day, she called me 20 times to talk and meet. But, I was so busy and occupied with some priority work, I could not pick up her call and sent her a message, “I am busy right now. TTYL” Before that day when she was calling, I was receiving her call or used to call back in minutes, even if I was occupied with other work. But on that day for the very first time, I completely forgot that she had called. I forgot to call her back and wish them “Happy Friendship Day”. I forgot to call and meet her. That day passed and she also didn’t call me. On the same night, around 12 am, I received a call from her husband’s number. Suddenly I remembered that I told her to call her after finishing my work. I thought, “she might be very furious, So, she has called Robert’s (Shelby’s husband) cell number.” I grabbed my phone and received the call without any delay. I got shocked after listening to Robert’s words from the other side. He said, “Shelby is no more. She had an accident before 3 hours when she was driving to your place. I tried to reach her and save her after getting a call from the person who took her to the hospital. By the time I reached there, I had lost her forever.”

I felt like the ground was slipping under my feet from its place. I could not believe my ears. “Shelby was calling me the whole day. Now, how can she die just like that? Is this a dream or truth? Or some prank of her to punish me?”- I was mumbling to myself.

Death is inevitable. But, I regret that I could not say a proper goodbye to her. I could not spend some time with her (that she wanted or that I understood was her last wish). I could not listen to her voice for the last time (because I rejected her call 20 times and replied back with a message). I feel guilty because after finishing my busy schedule, I forgot to call her on that day. When I was busy, I did not answer her call. When I want to call, she is not there to answer my call.- This breaks my heart every day. I miss her every single day and will miss her till my last breath.

It took me a long time to believe she is no more in this world. Till now, some part of me still believes she is not gone, she is hiding somewhere and waiting for me to find her like we used to play hide and seek during school time.

No work is more important than our loved ones. Never ignore the love and affection of your loved ones, only because you are busy.

Thanks for reading the confession. I request you to be with your loved ones first and do your other work as a second priority!

Get my stories in your feeds by subscribing to me, or become a member to read all stories of thousands of other writers, participate in all challenges and get a payout with low fees and less payout threshold on Vocal Media. I will get a small commission amount, but you don't have to pay extra for it, You can't believe, it will help me out much. Thank you in advance.

Originally published on My Diary - Confession.

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Unbounded Soul

25, Poet, Learner, Searching for lots of adventures, Traveler.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.