Confessions logo

"If you could ask for a miracle..."

Healing from childhood trauma

By Jorgelina ZeoliPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Jorgelina, age 11

Healing Circle .

“If you could ask for anything you want from this Circle tonight,

even if it were a miracle,

what would your heart intention be?” the group leader asked,

and I said:

“I carry an abandoned child inside me.

If I could ask for a miracle, I would ask that my abandoned little child come to know that she is loved.”

~~~

Flashback

The magic of Christmas.

I am in awe.

Sitting with the other children around the tree, I can’t wait to get my gift,

only there’s no gift.

~

Curled up on the floor against a wall, a little girl is dying.

A young boy sees her, he knows,

and brings her a long piece of pink candy.

~

a fog of aloneness,

not understanding anything,

such is the world of abandoned little children who lack a loving mirror reflecting them back

~

abandoned little children do not know they exist

~

feeling invisible

feeling non-existent

the tragedy of the abandoned child

~

living wanting to die

yet not dying,

since so young wanting to die,

one blow after another after another,

everyone I love taken away,

losses... losses...losses,

why would I want to be in this horrible world?

I was never welcomed here,

why would anyone want to be where she’s not welcomed?

wanting to die

~

-Hey, Jay?

-yes?

Friend: cheer up, will you?

Jay: alright, alright

Friend: Pisculiche

Jay: what did you say?!

Friend: “I said Pisculiche”

Jay: that’s how my grandma used to call me! “My Pisculichita,” Mami used to say

Friend: what a cute name she gave you

Jay: yeah, because I was so little, so she named me after the Pisculiche Family

Friend: because they were little too?

Jay: because they were little too

Friend (singing): little-doo, little-doo

Jay (singing back): little-doo, little-doo

Friend: Jay, you’re singing!

Jay: singing is good

Friend: singing is very good

~

I went to eternity and dived into my deepest depths

where I found my abandoned inner child letting herself die of sadness,

of hunger,

of sheer despair,

and I carried her in my arms to the Eternal Presence

She’s there now,

and I’m waiting... waiting...

~

-Hey, Jay?

-yes?

Friend: I like it here

Jay: you do?

Friend: yeah

Jay: so it’s not too cold in there?

Friend: in your heart?! are you kidding me?! there’s fire in here

Jay: must be the hot flashes

Friend: I was wondering about the heat waves

Jay: my thermostat has gone berserk

Friend: you think so?

Jay: yeah, so you are nesting in my heart?

Friend: yup

Jay: don’t you get too comfy now

Friend: there’s no such thing as too comfy, Jay

Jay: oh yes, there is!

Friend: there is?

Jay: don’t you fall asleep on me now!

Friend: I would never fall asleep on you, Jay

Jay: well that’s good to know

Friend: yes baby, that’s very good for you to know

~

(later)

-Friend?

-yes?

Jay: I have a raccoon curled up in my heart

Friend: you connected with him, didn’t you?

Jay: yeah, he was dying

Friend: curled up behind your rose bush

Jay: it was cold and windy

Friend: and he lifted up his furry little head and looked at you

Jay: with those sad feverish eyes

Friend: and the two of you connected

Jay: so deeply

Friend: you saw yourself in the dying raccoon, Jay

Jay: and I sobbed

Friend: and you took him into your heart

Jay: and now you are there!

Friend: you said it, sweetie pie

Jay: the raccoon opened my heart

Friend: and I moved right in

Jay: wow

Friend: what?

Jay: you walked in right behind the raccoon

Friend: yup

Jay: boy, you are sneaky, aren’t you?

Friend: whatever works, my dear

~

-Jay?

-yes?

Friend: what did you see in the raccoon?

Jay: he was dying, he was immersed in his own dying

Friend: that’s the pull, isn’t it?

Jay: that’s the pull

Friend: what is it, Jay?

Jay: wanting to die, wanting to leave, not wanting to be here,

living, being present, is a constant fight against this pull

~

(later)

Jay: the raccoon touched my heart

Friend: what touched you, Jay?

Jay: his warmth

his sadness

his beauty

his dying,

this beautiful animal fully surrendered to his own dying

Friend: and you saw yourself in it, baby ,

you saw your warmth

your sadness

your beauty

and your dying

Jay: and taking him into my heart

Friend: you took yourself into your heart, and the part of you that wants to die

Jay: is now curled up, all comfy inside my heart!

Friend: you’ve got it, babe!

Jay: and you are there too

Friend: and I’m there too

Jay: and the raccoon is there too

Friend: yup

Jay: like Stuart!

Friend: Stuart is there too?!

Jay: yeah, because he’s so warm

Friend: your therapist is warm like the raccoon?

Jay: yeah

Friend: does he know? he has to know, this is real important stuff

Jay: I have to tell him because I want him to know that he’s like my raccoon in my heart and I need him to help me with the part of me that wants to die,

although maybe, with my Friend and Stuart and the raccoon as heart-mates she may not want to die anymore

~

(later)

Jay: I saw his helplessness, his vulnerability

Friend: the raccoon was dying, the raccoon was leaving

Jay: and there was nothing he could do about it

Friend: he had accepted it

Jay: he had given up the fight

Friend: you had given up the fight

Jay: I had given up the fight

Friend: on that Christmas Eve, when you were little and didn’t have a gift

Jay: I believed I didn’t exist and I fell inside myself

Friend: into the place that dies, into the place that leaves

Jay: I’ve carried inside me for all these years that part of me that was dying, that was leaving

Friend: pulling you away from being here

Jay: from being present

Friend: from being alive

~

(later)

I saw the raccoon curled up against the wall

(curled up against the wall!)

behind my rose bush

and he moved me so deeply,

and I sobbed so deeply,

that as I sobbed for my dying little girl letting her into my heart,

she began her return into life

~

-hey, Friend?

-yes?

Jay: this was a raccoon with a purpose

Friend: he sure was, little one, he sure was

~

(later)

-Friend?

-yes?

Jay: in his dying he gave me life

Friend: you love life, don’t you, Jay?

Jay: I’m talking about the raccoon

Friend: still with the raccoon?

Jay: you sound like those who do not understand

Friend: sorry, Jay, I was just playing dumb

Jay: stop playing dumb, it’s not good for you

-ok

-ok

~

(another day in eternity)

-Friend?

-yes?

Jay: I don’t want to die anymore

Friend: you don’t?!

Jay: nope

Friend: and how did that happen?!

Jay: I’ve grieved so much, I think I’m all grieved-out

Friend: you are?!

Jay: well not really, but the wanting-to-die chunk seems to be gone

Friend: wow

Jay: that’s what I say

Friend: hard to believe, huh?

Jay: hey, I believe in you? I can believe in anything

Friend: sounds hopeful, doesn’t it?

Jay: hope is good

Friend: hope is very good

Jay: time to go home?

Friend: yeah, let’s go home

Jay: want a cookie on the way

Friend: yeah, let’s have a cookie on the way

~~~

(From Healing Journey of the Abandoned Child. Flashback Part One, Dawn of the Broken Heart Volume One)

www.jorgelinazeoli.com

Vocal.Media Challenges: Fiction Awards

~

Other stories by Jorgelina Zeoli

Jack and The Guys

And the table went PSST!

I couldn't let her go, Journey through Alzheimer's

 Numb little robot

 The Heartbreak, Journey through Alzheimer's 

 Speak Truth

The Ordeal, Clergy sexual abuse

Childhood
Like

About the Creator

Jorgelina Zeoli

Jorgelina Zeoli is a former recital organist and teaches singing and Tai Chi. Her memoirs, films and songs focus on personal growth and the healing of her inner child. She incorporates humor, poetry and art. She resides in the USA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.