Confessions logo

I Think I Got Scammed

Are you Next?

By JBazPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 11 min read
21
I Think I Got Scammed
Photo by Eddy Billard on Unsplash

'Scammed' the word takes on a whole new meaning when it happens to you. But you're too smart to be taken in by a modern-day con, they will never get you.

Until they do.

In 2019 America reported losses from identity theft cost of $502.5 billion and increased 42 percent to $712.4 billion in 2020. This is just Identity theft. What about the numerous Cybercrime that affect millions of people throughout the world? Surely we have all heard by now of the unusual ways they try to trick people out of their hard-earned money. Let me rephrase this… ' They trick honest, hard-working people out of their money '

But How?

I never realized how many foreign Prince's needed help until they started reaching out to me. And if I truly was to be arrested every time someone from the Canada revenue agency (Our IRS) called to say they were on their way to incarcerate me. I believe I would be serving a life sentence by now. So far no one has showed up to haul me away. I do not click on advertisements that tell me I have won something or that my cash credit is now available. I do not ‘click on this' to find out about my refund. Nor do I respond to a bank texting me requesting information.

Surely, they cannot fool someone so wise and careful..

Well, let me tell you how it happened to me.

First off, it was the perfect storm of events for this to even have a chance to work. As I mentioned, I am not one to fall for cons, I can usually spot them. I have taken courses in how to recognize cyber scams. I have shaken my head when I read about a poor individual or couples who were dooped, yes I said dooped. When you get swindled you can say weird things like this. Including swindled. Anyways, lets start at the beginning.

1- The Setting:

I started a new job and had just passed the three-month probation time. There were many things on my mind at the time. My job was becoming larger in responsibilites and overwhelming with requests to take on more work and new projects.

2- Constant Personal Mental Anxiety- Stress:

A close friend is going through Chemo treatments.

Another close friend, recently had a stroke and has not fully recovered.

I found out that my cousin was diagnosed with a tumor.

My daughter suffers from depression and was having on again off again episodes.

A continuous lack of a proper night’s sleep. Plus, work, and everyday pressures. (Which leads to a great segue)

3-Time Pressure:

This is a big one, it sneaks up on you without realizing it. Constant deadlines and trying to accomplish too much in a limited time. When your mind is trying to concentrate on a task, knowing there are at least four to five others that need completing by days end.

Especially during any holiday or special event. For me Christmas had begun, and expectations were already lingering in the air, like out of tune carols sung by a choir.

4 Unexpected events- Murphy's law:

"Anything that can go wrong will go wrong"

We had a group of new hires who were in their first days of training. The person who was to teach and train a course for them this day, fell off a ladder and got injured the night before. Which was ironic as he was to teach the ladder safety course. So, it fell on to me to become the instructor. But my day was fully booked with other duties and meetings that needed to be completed. It was Thursday, everything was due on Friday.

I arrived at work early to prepare, around 6 a.m. I should mention that I was a little stressed therefore I slept on the couch so I wouldn’t keep my wife awake...... Okay full disclosure.... My wife and daughter decided it would be a clever idea to discuss with me their take on the modern man. I will not get into the argument. Let’s just say it was the kind that leaves one sleeping on the couch. No big deal I've been there before. But never with a cat that kept waking me up by licking my nose all night long. I was working on three hours of disrupted sleep. Plus, I really do not like to argue with my family. Stress....

Okay back to arriving at work. It was only me and the owner of the business at this hour. We had a cup of coffee, a great talk, and discussed a variety of things. I mention this because it comes onto play later. It was nice but I really needed to prepare for the day.

I completed the in-class training then took everyone out for practical ladder work. Just our luck, it started to rain....okay, it was pouring out. During this time, my phone starts to ring, with calls from other people needing my attention. Then buzzing with text messages. One of the texts was from the owner of the company, requesting I text him back as he was in a meeting but needed to discuss something important with me.

One thing I know, I need glasses for reading. To read without them is sometimes a guessing game. I sort of see words and guess the rest, my arms are only so long. As I mentioned it was raining, so I read it without my glasses.

In his text he asked if I could do him a favor. He had a task that he felt I would be perfect for doing. This should have been the first warning flag. I'm not perfect for anything.

I said sure no worries. He replied saying that he is unable to get away but wants to purchase gift cards for certain people who have stood out this year, would I be willing to pick up six Amazon cards, $200.00 each, and another one for myself. I replied I was busy today but could possibly do it tomorrow. Also, I thanked him for the offer but since I just started this job I can do without the gift card.

His text- He needed them today. Flag two.

Funny enough one of the topics of our conversation that morning was about him purchasing gift cards for the staff. Since we could not have a Christmas party this year (Due to Covid restrictions). Also, two of the managers were going to begin their holidays after today. I assumed that two of the cards were for them. In all honesty it made sense.

In his next text he mentioned it was a surprise, so do not tell anyone. Flag three.

I should note that every time I received a text from him, his name popped up on the caller ID.

I will not go into detail of all that transpired or happened but let’s say that everything that could go wrong did. Including setting the new hires up in their assigned work vehicles. None of these vans were ready and all were low on gas. This was supposed to be prepared by the person who injured themselves. Now we are cleaning, stocking and trying to fill the vans up with gas. Murphy's law takes another little twist. Four days earlier we got hit with one of the worst rainstorms in history. Roads in our area and across the province were no longer serviceable. I live on an island; we were informed that items would not be deliverable. Causing shortages on all products, including gas. We had to go to different gas stations to find and fill up with the elusive liquid. Plus, there was a limit of only thirty litres per visit. Time consuming.

Meanwhile I am receiving nonstop texts about the Gift cards. Flag. Other members of my team are calling with issues of their own and I am still trying to train the new people. I finally make it back to the office to talk to the owner about this when I am told he had to leave unexpectedly and could not be reached. Murphy's law again. His story checked out, he really couldn't pick up the cards himself, and I could not talk to him in person.

I left the trainees to load their vans. Off I went to buy the cards. I send him a text to let him know that I will pick them up. Oddly enough, I remember chuckling to myself thinking I should ask him to call me, so I knew it was him with which I was communicating. I really thought about requesting that.

Always listen to your gut.

I had to go to two different stores because the first would only sell me four gift cards. Their reason..... to prevent cons. Honestly, these were their words and still the red light did not fully go on, it was flicking a bit stronger though.

I had to race back to finalize the exam for the people taking the training. While they were taking the test, I finally sat down at my desk. I had the first bite of food I had all day. It was now almost 3 pm. I was about to respond saying I have the cards. I finally put on my reading glasses and noticed something odd. I did not recognize the number with which I was corresponding. Even though it popped up with his name, I knew the number was not familiar. Now I get my Spidey senses tingling. I reply that I have the Amazon Gift cards.

The response is a noticeably clear step by step process on how he would like to email the cards to the people, and if I could remove them from the package and take pictures of the front and back and blah... blah...blah.

I texted back, saying I do not recognize this number. And not to be rude but can you confirm that you are who you say you are.

Response- 'I am using a phone I do not normally use. I really appreciate you doing this.'

I text back- 'Wrong answer.'

Nothing.

Did I piss off my new boss?

Still nothing, no response.

I take a deep breath and realize that I caught myself, just in time. Once I had a chance to think clearly I realized how I nearly got caught up in a fraud. I managed to contact my real boss on his real number and asked if there was anything he needed before I leave for the day.

He replied, 'Nope, all good'.

I sat back, a little upset with myself for almost falling for something so obvious. Then I started to laugh, I just had a delightful story to tell. I mean, I cannot keep this a secret from my wife.... or family....or friends and apparantly from the world.

Feeling a little cocky I thought that I would reply with one more message before I blocked the caller.

I text back ...'Glad I wasted most of your day making you think you suckered someone. Did you really think this would work?'

Block.

Okay, so it almost worked. I also found out you cannot return Amazon gift cards.

That is a whole other story. To be brief, the first store thought I was scamming them. I found myself in a very awkward situation being flanked by security guards and a couple of managers. But as I said, a story for another time.

In short: I now own $1200.00 in Amazon cards. Someone needs to help Bezos pay for that penis shaped rocket.

Let us review how a person can fall for an obvious scam.

1- Exhaustion.

2- Mentally stressed- Family/personal life issues.

3-Time pressure.

4- Not wishing to fail.

5- Wanting to do the right thing.

6-Believing the other person is who they say they are. (They are not).

Warning signs and How to avoid- Scams, Cons and Frauds:

1- If you feel uncomfortable, trust your gut instinct.

2- If you feel pressured and it becomes a time sensitive request without any logic. Flag.

3- Do not Rush into giving or spending money without stopping and reviewing what it is you are asked to do. IT IS YOUR MONEY.

4- Ask Questions. Especially if they say it is a secret or surprise, and you are requested not to tell any one.....TELL EVERYONE.

5 - Scare tactics.

6-Trust your gut,

7. Trust your gut.

8- TRUST YOUR GUT .

Never feel embarrassed about asking for confirmation or telling them you will get back to them once you review the request. It is okay to say, I need to talk to someone else about this. If it is legit, they should understand. If they don't allow you time to think on it, and pressure you to stay on the line or it needs to be done ASAP, it is most likely a con.

Oh yeah, in case I didn’t mention this. TRUST YOUR GUT.

Cheers everyone and don't get scammed.

NOTE: A notable item to add to this story: For a Christmas gift this year, the owner bought everyone an Amazon Gift Card....You can't make this stuff up.

Thank you for taking the time to read another of my ramblings. I hope that you enjoyed this ill fated tale of mine. As it sure could have been worse. Please help yourself to any of my other stories.

Jason

Embarrassment
21

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah Loydabout a year ago

    Thank you for your story. I can see how this can happen to you due to the circumstances, so don't feel bad. A similar situation happened to me. Hopefully, I can get my money back.

  • Worth reading a 2nd time and I am sure helpful to many

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.