Confessions logo

I Sometimes Break Into Construction Sites

Journal

By Ada ZubaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
I Sometimes Break Into Construction Sites
Photo by Surasit Laopa on Unsplash

I have been alive for more than 28 years. That is not a very long time if you think about it. I am still relatively young and active. Yet, I am here still trying to figure out how the universe works and how I can improve my life. However, I am also one of those people where things just kind of...happen around me, and I have no clue how I got there in the first place. I make snap decisions, and I somehow stumble across adventures, which I never knew I could experience. So, when this Vocal Media challenge popped up, I knew I had to share this experience. This is the story of how I broke into a construction site... entirely by accident. How is that possible, you ask? Well, let me tell you.

It all started when my oldest sister had decided to visit her friends up in Edmonton, Alberta. We packed up the car and stuffed in a few of her friends, and we headed off. It started off as a regular road trip. You know, candy, chips, listening to alternative music while playing car games and occasionally bursting into song completely off-key and stopping at A&W on the way. This is what a regular road trip to me is. The plan was to drop me off at my friend's apartment, and my sister and her group would go their way. That is precisely what happened. I was dropped off in front of my friend's apartment with my bags in hand, and I waited to be buzzed in, and within moments she came downstairs and greeted me.

We hauled my suitcase up the stairs and into the elevator, and then we were in her sizeable one-bedroom apartment. I mean, it was significant for a one-bedroom apartment. It had large glass windows overlooking the city, and you could see for miles into the night as the city lights shone into her living room. The living room was relatively large, too; she could probably fit in two sofas if you needed to. It was comfortable. Before arriving at my destination, I had looked up things to do that would be cheap as we were both students at the time. I found out that the Royal Alberta Museum had a free night. My friend had offered that we go out with some of her friends and we play a board game and drink some tea. It sounded like fun, but how often is a museum free? The answer is...not very. So we decided to bundle up and look up where and what bus to take to get there. We had all the information. Except. One piece. That was vital. The bridge that led to the museum was under construction. They were redesigning the whole thing, which meant that it was closed. We hopped on the bus, completely unaware.

I asked the bus driver if he knew how to get to the museum, and he merely grunted with no response (basically ignoring me). I asked him once more, and this time he did not give a sign of life other than the fact that he was driving. We looked it up on our phones and read that it would be a few bus stops away. We got off, which seemed to be the right stop, and all we had to do was cross the bridge. Yup. The same bridge that was under construction. I said there had to be a way to get across, and we both started scouting the area. It was already dark at this point, and after a half-hour of scouting, we decided that there was no way to get across to the other part of the city. We had to find the other bus stop to take us back, though, and the next thing I knew, we were squeezing our way through a crack in the fence of a construction site as this seemed to be the only way to get through. There was litter everywhere; faded Tim Horton cups were trashed along with cigarette butts that once touched the lips of construction workers. The mud on the ground was pretty frozen. We both looked at each other and knew we had to get out. We found another crack in the construction fence, and we somehow managed to get out. We both looked at each other and laughed.

"So I think we can both agree that I make terrible life decisions," I told her. She looked at me and laughed.

"Well, that's what happens when I hang out with you. It always tends to be an adventure," she said, trying to add a positive spin on the situation. I nodded as I could not agree more.

We headed back to her apartment and ended up having a dance party to dance off the adventure of the night that we had. This is the kind of thing that happens to me on basically a daily basis. I break into construction sites and end up in weird situations. This is who I am, and life can bring on all the lemons because I am up the adventure, trying my best to make lemonade out of it.

Bad habits
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.