Confessions logo

I Regret Seeing This... I Was 8 Years Old I Was Lying Under the Bed and I Saw Everything

I grew up with the conviction that my parents loved me and would always be there for me because of this certainty, but everything changes in an instant.

By Dwayne nembhardPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 9 min read
2
I Regret Seeing This... I Was 8 Years Old I Was Lying Under the Bed and I Saw Everything
Photo by Melissa Askew on Unsplash

Because of this certainty about my parents' love for me, I grew up believing that they would always be there for me, too. How well do you know your parents? I know many of you feel the same way about your parents. When you're not around, have you ever noticed how they act differently? On my ninth birthday, I learned the truth about my father. Before that, my father was my idol. Despite the fact that he was away at work most of the time, he remained the role model I most admired. This meant that my mother was almost always the one who disciplined or punished me during our time together. Despite the fact that my father wasn't always present, I felt more at ease when he was. Even though he was too tired to engage in conversation or play with me, he was still the more entertaining parent in my book. My parents would throw me huge birthday parties for my 9th birthday every year because he would buy me whatever I wanted. In addition to a bounce house, my parents had hired a magician, and they made sure to invite nearly all of my childhood friends. I was there, and I remember it well. I hadn't seen Roger in well over a year when I last saw him. After third grade, he moved to a different school district and we lost touch. Because we'd been hanging out a few times since, we decided it was best to meet at his place rather than mine. When Roger's mother opened the door, she made me feel unwelcome. I got a blank stare from her before she yelled for Roger and stomped away. Although Roger didn't act out of character, I had the distinct impression that she was keeping tabs on me the entire time I was there. I simply could not have done it. Is there any fun to be had at all? As a nine-year-old, I was terrified of her because she was so tall and always wore a scowl. I dropped a plate by accident because I was nervous to be around her. She was ecstatic to have a reason to be angry with me and yelled for the rest of my time there. He could tell I was upset when I told him what happened when he picked me up from Rogers. He laughed and remarked that Roger's mother must have been a savage individual. In the years that followed, she had no interest in dating Roger or me because of her feelings for me.

My father convinced her to join us. Seeing my friend's mother staring at me from across the party made me nervous, despite the fact that I was happy to be there with my friend. With Roger and my friends, I played a variety of games throughout the day. My mother spent the majority of the party baking the birthday cake while my father chatted with other parents and served as the host. Roger had the brilliant idea to start a game of hide and seek right after we'd exited the bounce house. There were more bedrooms and bathrooms in my house back then than a family of three could possibly use. It was ideal for games like hide and seek and other outdoor activities. As Roger stood at the corner, he began to count down. In the meantime, the rest of us fled to our safe havens. As soon as I arrived, I had a clear idea of where to go. Anywhere in the house was fair game, but I doubted any of my friends would dare to venture into my parents' bedroom. The dim lighting in my parents' dimly lit room made it nearly impossible to see under my parents' bed. Under the bed, I waited patiently. I figured I'd return to the party once Roger had found everyone else and enough time had passed. When Roger said he'd yell if he found anyone, I believed him. It would be easy for me to figure out when the right time was to make a dramatic return. Roger's face must have been absolutely astonished when I finally showed up after he'd spent so much time searching for me. While I waited, I made an effort to shrink down to the smallest possible size under the bed. It was cosy and dark, and as the minutes passed without any sounds, I began to nod off. When I heard the door slam open, I was startled out of my sleep. I was alarmed when I overheard a hushed conversation, thinking it might be my missing friend. I tried to keep my body as still as possible and avoid making any noise. It was difficult to understand what they were saying, but I was able to decipher some of what they were saying. Surely no one noticed that the person speaking did not sound anything like one of my friends. Are you sure no one noticed? It sounded like a woman of a certain age, perhaps even older. As far as I know, Brad and the cake-fussing hag are still playing hide-and-seek. I was taken aback. However, I'd never heard him talk in that manner before. Only my mother and I could have met him.

Nonetheless, I had no idea he had that kind of view of us in his mind. It was true that I hadn't spoken to him in a while, but I'd always remembered him. While he cared for and loved me, he also made me laugh. My mother referred to me as a "brat." Nothing but gifts and cash were given to me by my father growing up. Nearly as tall as my father's back, I moved closer to the bed's edge, hoping to get a better look at who he was speaking with. Despite her resemblance to someone I'd seen before, I could not identify her. After that, my father grabbed her by the shoulders and tipped her backwards. I first saw her face when they kissed. Roger's mother was the one who called. Then my mom started yelling for everyone to come into the kitchen, and I heard her. My father and Roger's mother brushed off their clothes when the cake was ready. They squeaked out of the room on tiptoes as he moaned under his breath about being constantly nagged. It seemed like a long time passed, but in reality it was only a matter of minutes. When I finally rolled out of bed, I felt tears streaming down my face. I hadn't realised I'd been crying until just then. I was in a state of utter disbelief after seeing and hearing what I had just witnessed and heard. As I walked back to the party, upside down, I felt as if I were in a daze. They were surprised to see me in the way I had pictured. But I didn't give it a second thought. I ate my cake and unwrapped my presents silently the entirety of the celebration. Rogers' mother's glare on me was the only thing I could do. It took all of my strength to say my goodbyes when the party was over. When my father offered to walk Roger and his mother back to their car, I was about to vomit. When my mother inquired about how I was feeling, all I could say was "I feel." I was sick for weeks and didn't tell anyone what I saw. My father would come home in the evening, and my mother would spend her days cleaning and caring for me, but everything had changed. I was no longer looking forward to seeing my father and felt a strange sense of dread whenever he arrived at our home. I was unable to eat and felt exhausted.

At 6 a.m., I was constantly nauseous. I wished more than anything that I could erase what I had just seen. My only regret in life was that I had snuck under my parents' bed. Something wasn't right with my mom. but couldn't persuade me to open up. I was afraid that my parents would split up if my mother found out that I had hit under the bed. My mother confronted me after I'd been living this way for nearly a month. I was on the verge of tears when she asked if I wanted to meet up with Roger in the hopes that he would lift my spirits. She explained to me that she was concerned about my well-being and that she wanted to help. As soon as I laid eyes on her, tears welled up in my eyes. Everything I'd witnessed, I'd told her. She sat back and listened. We were going to stay with Grandma for a while or maybe forever, she told me to pack my bags after nodding her head at a few details. This has made me even more angry. Just like before my birthday, I wished for things to be back to normal. When I saw my father for the first time, I wanted to be ecstatic and confident in his love for my mother and me. When I saw something I wasn't supposed to, it made me feel like I was to blame for it. If only I hadn't, I thought we would have been a happy family. Before my father got home from work, we left. My mother continued to contact him over the following days. and informed him that she was divorcing him. When she found out he had been unfaithful to me on my birthday, she was enraged. Finally, he admitted that he'd had an affair with Roger's mother, even though he tried to deny it and say that I must have imagined things or that I was lying. Roger and I had been friends for a long time before this. He confessed to my mother that he'd become resentful of us and that he couldn't stand the sight of me anymore. Assumptions and the life I'd led were based on lies. A decade has passed since my ninth birthday, and I've had little contact with my father. For a while, I thought it was all because of me. My family broke up because I saw something I wasn't supposed to, and it felt like I had ruined everything. It was at that point that I realised I had no choice but to accept the truth as it had already arrived.

Sooner or later, the truth came out, and the life I'd been living was a sham. As a result of this experience, my mother and I have become even closer and more honest with each other. even if it had a profound effect on me as a person and on my relationship with my father. Every day, I'm grateful that I hid under the bed and witnessed everything that happened.

Teenage years
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.