Confessions logo

I'm sick of New Year's Resolutions and Here's Why: A List of All the New Year's Resolutions I was Unable to Achieve/Keep up with in the New Year

I'm going to make a new year's resolution at the end - it's tradition

By JaimiePublished 2 years ago ā€¢ 3 min read
1
I'm sick of New Year's Resolutions and Here's Why: A List of All the New Year's Resolutions I was Unable to Achieve/Keep up with in the New Year
Photo by Thomas Park on Unsplash

New Year's Resolutions are notorious for falling through. There are a number of reasons I think that is. Maybe it's because we come off the busy period of the holidays expecting everything to calm down, when it really doesn't. Maybe it's because the new year inspires you, but then reality hits two weeks into the new year and it doesn't fit the hype. Whatever the reason, we've all probably had our resolutions fall through, right?

I'm a serial resolution maker and breaker. I think I've broken more new year's resolutions than I've made at the moment. My best guess as to why that is, is that I just don't know when to say 'no'.

The following lists are regarding past resolutions I have made and what's different about this year's resolution. There's a lot on this list. Mainly because I usually double-up a few resolutions in an attempt to achieve just one of them. Also, at the start of each year, it just seems like there is so much time ahead and anything can be achieved.

No list of New Year's Resolutions would be complete without the mandatory resolutions about exercise or losing weight. It's always some variation of the following:

  • Go for a walk everyday
  • Lose some weight
  • Exercise regularly
  • Join a gym

The Social Media Cleanse Resolutions are some of the hardest to maintain for me. I always revert back to checking the phone, redownloading the app, and scrolling through mindlessly again within a few days at the most. I've tried:

  • One week of every month, don't go on Facebook or Instagram
  • Only one post per month for the entire year
  • Don't double check how many likes you get

My favourite resolutions to make are the bookish New Year's Resolutions. I do this to myself every year, and I haven't achieved any of them yet, despite being an avid reader at times. Here are my favourite bookish resolutions that I keep returning to - but never sticking to:

  • Read 50 books in a year
  • Read 100 books in a year
  • Buy less books than you read
  • Complete a reading challenge
  • Join a book club

I'm sure there are many more resolutions that I have attempted over the years. Too many. But, despite the sheer amount of resolutions - and the occasional changes and tweaks to the resolutions - I have never been able to achieve them. It's to the point now that I almost despise them. They never work, I never change and the whole thing was a waste of time and energy. I mean, does anyone keep them?

Despite my cynicism about making new year's resolutions, I'm still making a resolution for 2022. I'm resolving to have a restful 2022. I'm done saying 'yes' to everything, I want to say 'yes' to me - and I want to do it now. I'm going to stop accepting those extra shifts, stop going out with my friends when I know I'm too tired to have fun, and spend more time working on my nighttime routine and developing good sleeping habits.

There are some goals that I definitely have for this year, but they're more a list of life things that I want to do, like: go on a ride in a hot air balloon, move to a new city, paint my own art to hang in my house, and take a couples cooking class. But my main goal that trumps absolutely everything else is to just be me and to be happy and to make sure I have time for the things I want to do and that I can get some good sleep in. I am just sick of sleepless nights and forgotten resolutions. I figure, if I make a resolution that prioritises my sleep - something I absolutely need and love - then I can't go wrong, right?

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Jaimie

Amateur writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.