Confessions logo

I'm not him

New identity

By David F AndersonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I was just 18,we all remember what that was like. I had met this girl at a party. We all know that feeling, when you see someone and your thinking wow, I could spend the rest of my life with them. This might just be that person that I marry. It's like the whole world just disappears and all you can see is them. I know we all have those very special moments, that moment you think you're going to remember it forever, so you can tell your children, and grandchildren about that first time you met their Mom, Dad, Grandmother or Grandpa. That moment when your heart is filled with so much Love, you feel like your walking on clouds. I think we can all remember those moments. That very first time we fall in Love, the first kiss or your first time. You couldn't eat or sleep they were all you thought about. Thinking about them still today, takes you right back to that moment. When your heart was filled with Passion and Desire.

This story is none of that , It is about waking up in the middle of a field, with a girl passed out in your backseat, who you don't even know, an empty bottle of Crown Royal on the floor board of the car. Then you realize it's 9:30 in the morning and you missed work. It takes you another 2 hours just to find your way out of the middle of this damn field. Another half hour to drop the young lady off. Listening to her tell me how her big brother was probably going to kill her. I am thinking a bottle of aspirin, brush my teeth, a hot shower and bed. I pull into the parking lot and jump out of my car. I can here this pounding noise but I have to get to my apartment. I step down on that first step headed to my apartment. That's when I realized the pounding noise is coming from the gentleman pounding on my apartment door.

When she said her Big brother was going to kill me, she meant Big brother. His arms the size of my legs, but I've already stepped on that first step. He is looking up at me. There's no time to turn and run. I have to think, shit now on 2nd step what am I going to do. I am now on the 3rd step and the 4th step and my brain keeps saying what the hell are you doing. He is going to kill you. I'm now halfway down the steps ,now 3/4 of the way down the steps. I begin to see my whole life flash before me. It was short and it wasn't pretty. It is like I am floating out side of my body. I see myself going down the steps. There are only 2 more steps to go, I have to think fast. When I reach the bottom of the steps I gently push the Big guy to the side. I kick open the apartment door and I scream, you son of a bitch I want my money. Then I turn to the Big guy and say I just saw someone in the window and I think they are calling the police. We both scrambled to our cars and drove away.

I drove around in the car for hours, waiting for my friend to come home. I thought wow that big guy was going to kill me, I know he was going to kill me, he really was going to kill me. I thought he was following me for a while, then I realized it was just my imagination, no one could have that many vehicles parked in place ready to switch. In my mind, death had come knocking at my door, and I had escaped it. I did not go home until the next day. However the landlord who lived above the apartment had seen the big guy and heard the screaming and called the police. I forgot to mention my 2 roommates. When they got home they were in shock. Then they hear the message on our answering machine from my boss wanting to know why I didn't show up for work this morning. They are convinced I have been kidnapped and now they are scared for their own lives.

These guys are convinced that it is all their fault. Because of the $ 10.00 worth of weed they bought from the guy in the apartment on the other side 2 weeks ago, which they are still smoking out of. They think this somehow landed them in the middle of a drug war and I am a victim of their stupidity. The landlord wanted us to move out immediately. It took some convincing and $ 215.00 in cash, for damages to persuade her to let us stay. I told my roommates not to worry I had their backs. I told them that the word on the street was that someone had hit the wrong house and they realized it as soon as they kicked the door open. That is why there was nothing touched.

I never told anybody what really happened on that day. I have not drank Crown Royal since and I haven't woke up in the middle of a field either.

I hope you liked my story it is almost all true.

David F Anderson

Embarrassment
Like

About the Creator

David F Anderson

I have no writing experience and I have Dyslexia I am 61 years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.