Confessions logo

I give you my "word"

The long lost art of "the word" and giving it out.

By Coolest Bean Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Howdy. My name is Eric. I'm level 41. About to level up again. 42 this July 30th. I was thinking the other day about your "word". When you give someone your word. Back in the day, whole sales were made just based off if one's word. Thousands of dollars of land, machinery, and houses. Heck even in 2006 when I bought my house we got a $122,000 loan from the bank my parents have always banked at. It was a Friday and we were supposed to meet to sign the paperwork but my father couldn't be there. He had cows get out at the last second and couldn't make it. But the guy knew dad so well, he had banked there for so long that he just had me sign and let my dad give his word he would be on Monday. And that was good enough for the loan officer. He gave me a $122,000 check without my father's signature. Of course, my father came in Monday and signed his half. Try that nowadays.

See I was always taught when you give your word it's the ONE thing in this world you have absolute total control over. And it couldn't be truer these days. And I've even seen good honest men who have broken their word on things out of their control. That's why there is an art to it if you will. You can't just give your word out over anything. Let's say a friend calls you in a panic. They say they need a ride to a doctor's appointment quickly. They went to leave and had a flat or the vehicle wouldn't start. And you say "Calm down it'll be just fine. I'll be there in 15 minutes and we will get you there, you have my word" That's the wrong time to give your word. Why? You're getting up right now and headed to your car and you driving straight over. You know you're going to give them a ride. So what's the big deal?

That's an example of when you don't have control over your word. What if you go out and you have a flat tire. Or you get pulled over. Or break down yourself? Those are circumstances that are out of your control. So even tho your friend would probably understand and let you off the hook, it's still an example of breaking your word. Some people take great pride in their word.

It's one of the only things anymore we as an individual have absolutely 💯 control over. Just be careful how and when you give it out. Take pride in it. Build yourself a name off of it. Bring back that good ol boy pride. That Midwest Iowan farmer pride where we stop anytime we see someone setting on the shoulder. Or someone walking. Now I realize there is a difference between someone waking down a gravel road near a farming town of 2500 is a little different than someone walking down the internet in downtown Dallas, TX. Odds are you know the person from the small town and there is no danger in helping them. You have to be safe. I understand that and implore it.

But manners are just gone these days. Just a preview of tomorrow I'm going to write about I see people never parking between the parking lines. Taking up two spaces driving a beater. Non-handicap parking in a handicap. N

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Coolest Bean

mardkdknd e ds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.