Confessions logo

I can see clearly

I can

By Karen EyoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
I can see clearly

Am wearing glasses which I never used to never wanted to, they steam up when I wear a mask to cover my nose and mouth, this Covid has caused chaos in the eyes of us spectacle wearers. Today I am on way for an eye test after experiencing little floaters which to my eyes resemble tiny winged insects. I thought I was having an apocalyptic experience right in front of my very eyes.

At the opticians she takes me into a semi dark room and seated she shines a bright light in my pupils. I was sure that would scare away the floaters that resembled tiny winged insects. Then she checks my vision and I am reading letters on a chart to test my long and short distance. I felt like I a child again reading out loud, learning my ABC’s. I then had to cover one eye at a time to see how well my eyes worked together - Just when all was going so well she placed a machine on my left eye and then my right eye a quick puff of air blew right into the sockets which startled me, now if a friend or family member blew into my eyes like that I would be tempted to land them a punch, however the optometrist wore glasses. I would never hit a person wearing glasses. Am becoming edgy because she says nothing and am startled even more when she uses a test which passing flashes of light bombard my eyes.

Finally she hands me a story to read out, I imagine winning a prize for articulation and storytelling. The optometrist sits and listens and short of her applauding me at the end she announces my eyesight is 20/20.

I beam with pride and felt my prize has been won. I can see clearly and those tiny winged insects have floated away for good. I step outside and breath a sigh of relief, the rain seems to glisten and the grey skies seem blue as I walk out into the busy street. People smile at me and it’s only because am smiling at them, my eyes doing what they are supposed to looking, observing, seeing and awake. I see a woman drop her hat totally oblivious of her action, so I rush forward and pick it up yelling after her as she crosses the road “Your hat”

Her eyes widen and she thanks me and runs off toward the bus just catching it in time. The big bright red double decker bus drives away and I stop and stare as the crowded bus trundles on its merry way only the passengers are not so merry. They are masked and weary, tired eyes peeking in the not so distant future. One older gentleman approaches me and asks me “Do I have my mask on right?” I smile and take his mask off and put it on him the right way. His eyes mist up and he slowly walks away with his plastic shopping bag tucked under his arm.

I can see clearly and with all that is happening in this world my eyes are open. I buy the newspaper and go into a coffee shop. They do not take cash so I get my card out to pay and I have to insert my PIN numbers. I go to take out my glasses, then realise I can see clearly now and put in my 4 digits and press enter. Approved. I sit with my coffee and begin to read the newspaper, words read Daily infections hit record high. I can see clearly.

Humanity
2

About the Creator

Karen Eyo

Stretchologist and Poet of great strength and resilience past, present and future

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.