Confessions logo

I Almost Failed my First Year of College

But I didn't!

By Joyce KayPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3
I Almost Failed my First Year of College
Photo by MD Duran on Unsplash

Nearly ten years ago, I moved away from home to go to college for engineering. I was going to be living on campus in one of the dorms. I was both excited and nervous about being away from home for the first time. I also knew engineering was a very challenging and competitive program, and that made me a little nervous. However, I was a hard worker, and I had gotten good grades in high school, so I thought I would be okay.

What happened next can only be described as a nightmare. No matter how much I studied, or how hard I worked, I wasn’t understanding a lot of the course content. When my peers would go out on weekends, I would sit alone in my dorm room and study. I would eat all my meals alone in my room, to maximize the amount of time I had to study and do all of my homework assignments.

With every exam that was graded and returned, a little piece of my soul was destroyed. I failed all of them. It’s hard to pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and be motivated to study, when you are failing every single test you take. I was feeling so stressed and sad, and hopeless. Studying more wasn’t helping, and I didn’t know what to do. I was so embarrassed. If I couldn’t figure something out myself, I would feel stupid. I wouldn’t ask my friends or any of my professors for help, because I didn’t want them to think I was stupid. Instead I would spend hours and hours trying to understand, eventually giving up without ever understanding. My confidence was destroyed.

By some miracle, I passed the first semester. But barely. I had done well on the assignments, reports, and presentations, which helped to boost my grades. The courses I was in were also curved, which essentially just meant that how well I did in comparison to the rest of the class was taken into account when grades were assigned.

The second semester was pretty much a repeat of the first. I threw myself into school, and ignored the outside world. Looking back, I think I got myself to a point where I was just completely burnout. I thought that if I worked harder, I would do better, and as a result, I didn’t take very good care of myself. I wasn’t getting enough sleep or exercise, and wasn’t eating very healthy. I didn’t socialize or do anything fun. I just kept studying and studying.

Again, I passed that semester, but just barely. At this point, I was exhausted and felt broken. I was humiliated that I had done so poorly. I couldn’t even imagine what my high school teachers would think if they saw my transcripts. I had enjoyed learning the content in my courses, but no matter how hard I tried and how much effort I put in, I just wasn’t doing a good enough job. I started to question what was wrong with me. Maybe I wasn’t meant to be there.

But for some reason that I have never been able to explain to myself or to anyone else, I stayed. I just had a gut feeling that I belonged in engineering, and that I needed to persevere.

When it came time for me to go back for second year, I was extremely apprehensive. Scared, might even be a better word. I didn’t want a repeat of the previous year. My grades, my mental and physical health, and my confidence had all suffered. So I implemented several key changes in my life. I moved off campus, and rented a room in a house with some roommates. I got tutors for courses with which I was really struggling. When I was working on homework problems, or studying, and I came across something I didn’t understand, I would give myself ten minutes to try and figure it out. If I couldn’t figure it out in that time I would flag it to ask my friends, tutors, or professors at a later time.

I also started taking better care of myself. I would ensure that I got at least eight hours of sleep each night. If that meant that I didn’t finish a homework assignment, then I didn’t finish the homework assignment. I started eating healthier as well. I would cook all my own food, and meal prep for the week on Sundays. I also started regularly exercising. I found yoga videos on YouTube, and would do them in my bedroom when I needed break.

The outcome of my second year was that I finished with a 4.0 GPA. This was one of the proudest moments of my life. From there, as I progress through my degree, I maintained very high GPAs, and received numerous scholarships and awards. When it finally came time to graduate, I was second in my class! After graduation, I got my dream job, and most recently, I purchased my first house. These are all things for which I am incredibly proud.

I used to look back on my first year of college, and feel embarrassed. However, I have since realized that I am grateful that I had this experience, as it has helped me become the person I am today. I have learned that working hard is valuable, and will get me far in life, but only as long as I take care of myself and create boundaries. I have learned the value of resilience, and how to come back stronger after experiencing setbacks. But perhaps the greatest lesson of all, was that I learnt that I am my biggest asset, and that taking care of myself is an investment.

School
3

About the Creator

Joyce Kay

Practicing creativity

Instagram: @joycekaywriting

Referral Link: https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=joyce

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.