Confessions logo

How to make an absolute fool of yourself?! aka. just another Wednesday…

As we all know, we have those days when our mind is having trouble to catch up with our mouth. We all have that every once in a while, don't we?!

By DoryPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
How to make an absolute fool of yourself?! aka. just another Wednesday…
Photo by J Taubitz on Unsplash

As we all know, we have those days when our mind is having trouble to catch up with our mouth. We all have that every once in a while, don't we?! Let`s just say those moments can b e super embarrassing, I had those waaaay too many times. This last one was awkward enough that my inner self just died on the spot. My soul left my body facepalming itself repeatedly. 

Let`s set the scene, doctors appointment required me to get blood and urine test done. Gross… I know… Moving on… Got there, everything went fine, there wasn`t many people there, so I thought that it will be a great day. You know the smooth kind, when you don`t make an absolute full out of yourself, WRONG! We are talking about me, there is no smooth social interaction… Funny, yes. Smooth, no. They took my blood like vampires and I didn`t get super freaked out by the needle. I took it like a champ, at least I thought so. 

But this is where it get awkward, I`m heading to the toilet and I met a woman who was struggling with her coat and bad opening one of the bathroom`s door. I tried to be nice, you see where this is going?! I went up to her and asked kindly:

- "Do you need help with that?!"

She looked at me confused and that`s when I saw where it went south… I could see myself facepalming myself repeatedly and feeling like an idiot. So, I thought that I should clarify what I meant… I really shouldn't have…

- "And by "THAT", I meant opening the door or holding your coat. I didn't mean to help you with going to the bathroom."

She was giving me a blank confused expression and my soul started packing up to leave my body… So I went…

- "Okay, sorry! I'm just gonna shut up now… 😬 "

She started laughing at me hearing me rumble and driving myself deeper into embarrassment town. But the answer was what totally hit home to me and sent me straight to "please someone invent the time machine, so I can erase this whole thing happening from existence or me." Basically, at that point it was the same… 

- "I was actually just waiting for you to leave, so me using the bathroom wouldn't be awkward."

Inner me just died… But before it did, it called me an idiot, which I fully agreed on. So, I left and my brain chose violence. My first thought was "Do you wanna dig a hole here and now to die in it or should we wait until we get home?!" 

Let's just say, my brain`s malfunction led me to a ridiculously awkward situation that will hunt me for weeks to come. But at the same time, even though it was terrible in the moment and I wanted to disappear then and there, but it only took me a little time to laugh about it. Then it felt like the end of the world, but it doesn`t feel like it anymore. 

It`s like most things in our everyday lives, isn`t it?! When we told your crush how you felt about them, but they didn`t feel the same, we thought that`s the end. We thought, we will never love anyone again, but we did.

When we accidently spilled our groceries in the middle of the street, we thought that the whole world was watching us and was judging us. Did they though?! No, and that incident by now is only a memory. We remember, but we don`t care as much. We got over it. 

This is what I`ve learned from my awkward experiences, which I had a looot of, that even at the moment it feels bad, it doesn`t last forever. Awkwardness goes away, these incidents become inside jokes and memories. Worst case scenario, sometimes they become growing pains and scars, but they all build us to the person we are now.

Embarrassment
Like

About the Creator

Dory

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.