Confessions logo

How to Cast a Love Spell

To never fall in love

By Mae McCreeryPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Not my image

How to cast a spell to never fall in love; it might actually work.

When I was 8 years old, my family rented Practical Magic and I loved it. My great grandparents lived on 15 acres in the countryside and my Nana would often cure mild ailments like fevers and little infections with herbs from her garden and tips her own mother and grandmother gave to her. My grandma would call her a witch and mock the 'witchcraft' Nana would show me.

So, after watching Practical Magic I decided to apply what I knew and what I saw in the movie and create the Amas Veritas spell.

Amas Veritas

First, write out the traits you want in a partner. For every trait, pluck one rose petal and place gently in a bowl. I used a wooden bowl that my great grandfather made for my great grandmother.

For example, here's a few things I listed:

  • He'll laugh without a care
  • He has green eyes
  • He'd be able to ride a horse
  • He loves to laugh
  • He can make pasta from scratch
  • He'll twirl keys around to jingle to his favorite song
  • After getting the rose petals, add in:

  • Two Basil Leaves
  • Two Bay Leaves
  • Pinch of dried Lavender, or one fresh sprig
  • Pinch of Cinnamon
  • I walked to a small hillside and waited for a strong wind, you want to make sure it gets carried off and that the ingredients get some height. Once a good breeze kicked up, I stood and tossed the ingredients in the air and they swirled in the air and scattered some distance away. Make sure its a safe place, somewhere special that lets you connect with nature.

    Why did I cast this spell as a kid?

    I grew up in a big family, it was a mix of Latino, Italian, and Irish people and there wasn't a day that went by that none of them didn't fight.

    I was raised by a single mother, my father violent and abandoned us when I was a baby.

    My grandparents were rarely together in the same room let alone the same house, my grandfather built a separate bedroom that did not connect to the main house for himself. They are both headstrong catholics and divorce was something that they never discussed. They'd live separately, but divorce was absolutely out of the question.

    My great grandparents fought every day they were together, they actually cooked separate meals for themselves and if they weren't fighting they weren't speaking. Again, they were both catholic and refused to let anyone say the word divorce in their house. Seriously, it was as bad as saying 'f*&^' to them.

    Every aunt and uncle set in my family had issues, all my cousins who were married didn't stay married for long and most had been married five or six times and had one kid from each trip down the aisle. Obviously the aversion to divorce has dissipated in my generation.

    I don't remember a holiday spent before 2020 that didn't end with someone smashing a bottle of vodka against a wall or leaving their spouse at a party so they didn't have to deal with them. We never had a smooth family dinner, even if we were out at a restaurant it would end in a fight for someone.

    Even at 8 years old, I didn't believe in love. I liked dreaming about weddings and stuff, but an actual marriage was horrifying to me.

    So when I saw Practical Magic and watched Sally cast a spell to never fall in love, I took it personally.

    From what I saw in the movie and what I knew from my Nana, I re-created the spell to the best of my ability.

    I cast the spell, fully believing it would work. I remember watching the petals float in the wind and scatter around our property and thinking that at least I'd never have to worry about love.

    I found this spell in an old diary while cleaning out my closet, I laughed at myself at first and then for a second I worried it worked because my love life has been less than ideal. I also am not sure if I've ever really been in love.

    I've been lustful and too trusting and I've been betrayed and hurt. But love? I have never been with someone who I've felt 100% comfortable with, that I've trusted blindly, and who I've desired.

    Maybe it's because of the spell. Maybe I just can't attract a good partner.

    Romantic relationships aren't important to me, I'm sure there's some psychological reason why that I would pay a therapist a small fortune to unearth but at the moment my health insurance doesn't cover it.

    I sat on the floor going over all the spells and natural remedies I copied from my Nana and created on my own and couldn't help but smile.

    Maybe I'll try some more and start creating more simple spells like this. My Nana taught me a lot and while it might not be actual magic, it'll be nice to continue what she taught me.

    Secrets
    2

    About the Creator

    Mae McCreery

    I’m a 29 year old female that is going through a quarter life crisis. When my dream of Journalism was killed, I thought I was over writing forever. Turns out, I still have a lot to say.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.