Confessions logo

How I Pranked My Mom

I can't take full credit for this... it was my husbands idea. While I didn't think my mom would actually fall for it... I didn't try to stop it either.

By Vanessa R. PowellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
How I Pranked My Mom
Photo by Kristina Flour on Unsplash

I live in a small town called Evansville and in the flat state of Indiana. Don't worry, this isn't like one of those Pinterest recipes you saw that start off talking about the Pilgrim age of doing things. I'll do my best to get straight to the point. My husband and I pranked my mom. Well, really it was his idea, and I might have tweaked some wording to make it sound like me.

By Meredith Petrick on Unsplash

We have a really old library, Willard Library, known for being haunted by The Grey Lady. Ok, it's known for more than that, but these are the Cliff Notes. To read more about The Grey Lady click here. My mom and I really love the library but had never really taken the time to explore its history and magnificence. Willard Library was built in 1877 with Victorian Gothic architecture. The site has information on appearances, unexplained occurrences, a calendar of events, along with tons of other information pertaining to the history and all the things the library has to offer.

Willard Library

My husband is a prankster. He loves to grab my phone and continue a text message to whoever I was just talking to. My mom was trying to figure out where a particular title company was located so she could pick up an important paper (like...a Title). Unfortunately for her, my husband picked up the conversation and tricked her. Once I realized what was happening, I started laughing... I thought, There is NO WAY my mom is going to believe you! My husband says that's the point of his style of pranking.

The next day, I get a text from my mom...

Apparently she went to Willard Library and was really excited to FINALLY see the inside of the building. My husband told her the company was located in the basement of the library. Off she went to find the basement of the library, which is actually where the children's section is located. She couldn't find the title company, for obvious reasons, so she found a librarian in hopes they would help her.

By National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

In true Librarian fashion, when they aren't sure, they reach out for help. Whether that be with another Librarian or technology this person was off to find the magical title (company). To their dismay, they were really having trouble figuring out where this title was located. I guess the person thought they were looking for something in the Archives which is located either on the main level or upstairs, I can't remember. Either way, they weren't quite sure where to direct my mom. Just a reminder, my mom is in the basement at this point in the children's section.

At this point, my mom realizes that she had been pranked. She starts to explain to the Librarian what was going on. Unfortunately, they remained utterly confused. I can't say I blame them, who pulls a prank in A LIBRARY? My husband and I realize that she actually went through with going inside Willard Library to find the title company... and while hilarious, we did feel bad that we wasted her time. According to my mom, while she didn't retrieve the document needed, she was excited that she still went inside to see the building.

My mom has been faster to realize when my husband has attempted a new prank now. For me, I am snatching my phone out of my husbands hands (while he laughs) so I can quickly type, "IT WASN'T ME!!"

To this day she says it is the best prank he ever pulled on her.

On the bright side, at least she got to see the library, am I right? 😂

To the Librarian that had to help my poor mom, I'm sorry! I hope you were able to find humor in the situation, haha.

To the title company, sorry my mom was late picking up the paper! We may or may not have sent her to the wrong location, hahahahahhaha.

To my mom, I can't promise you'll be spared from any future pranks!

There you have it, the day my mom got pranked. Enjoy this post? Consider leaving a tip, sharing the post, or giving it a heart ♥️ . Check out some of my other work here.

Family
3

About the Creator

Vanessa R. Powell

I am a portrait photographer, graphic designer, creator extraordinaire, oh and I sell Scentsy. I suppose I am dabbling in writing too 😊 | Based in Evansville, IN | I am 721vanessa Photography | www.721vanessa.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.