Confessions logo

His Dream Keeps Me Living

He had a dream, so that I can have a life

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
His Dream Keeps Me Living
Photo by Unseen Histories on Unsplash

My start to living a better life, came with a simple rule of planting seeds. See, there was a time when I thought an eye for an eye attitude was the only way to live. I thought that karma wasn't working fast enough when people did me wrong and wanted to get even. However, life taught me better and some of the viewing and reading of Dr. King Jr.'s words gave me a better insight on life. After all, only love can get rid of hate!

The most significant thing that I consider myself doing is setting my monthly calendar to an event I call "Pay if Forward". During this day, I go out of my way to do a random act of kindness to a stranger. it could be anything from sending a distant social media friend $30 bucks for lunch, to giving someone a free ride during my duties as a rideshare driver. I look forward to that monthly event, because it presents opportunity to gain a friend or most importantly show people that there are people out there that just care and look for nothing in return.

Outside my monthly event of "Paying it forward", I always try to strive to be a better person from stopping to see if a motorist is OK, or even helping to change a tire. I have a Dream that one day I can create a rental community that doesn't have a high profit and focuses on the livelihood of its residences and not my personal gain. People are suffering with limited income and as a property owner, it will be my intent to manage and navigate through any crisis so that my residents can recover instead of worrying about keeping a roof over their heads. I am conducting the groundwork in creating passive income that will pay for any loan on the properties I own, which will not solely rely on residents paying rent. Trying times call for people to have solid plans that will provide financial security and not fear to some with regard of making the rent payment or not.

This has been my legacy and I am determined to put this place so that when people take a look at my properties, they know that in trying times they are on solid ground in return should build a solid relationship within the communities and housing I provide for others.

It has been my desired plans to set in place financial education in helping others understand the importance and value of life insurance and educate those away from the fear of having life insurance and the proper use of life insurance while they are living to create wealth and financial freedom.

Many have put in place the need of financial education, but to only gain from it. My intentions are to place financial education to those that will gain from their choices. Making a financial impact on our communities is essential for growth and unity. Very much like Dr. King, Jr. and other Civil Rights Leaders of yesterday were supported from families in the past, it is my goal to equip families of today with financial literacy so that they can support our leaders of the future.

I truly believe that in order to establish stronger communities, we have to educate financially and have them understand simple banking rules such as the rule of 72. The difference of understanding how financial tools work and create income that will not fade during a crisis when we need it most. The process is simple! Join the community and pool resources by helping them take their minds off the financial woes of today. Once that is completed, then we can focus as one on the common problems that linger in our neighborhoods. Creating wealth is the key! Anyone can create a job! However, to show a person how to create wealth is the beginning and the cure to many problems we face in a community suffering from financial ignorance.

So, my intent today is to take a stance that will be unpopular to the rental industry, very uncommon to the financial industry and finally do a service to the people without personal gain.

I will close with a short story and believe this to be true as God operates in my life. I was facing many problems in Atlanta, GA and did not know how things were going to turn out. Then a great friend invited me to come to the nursing home and help with service for the sick and shut in. Well, my initial thoughts were this was the last place I want to be. I have enough problems of my own. A better thought inside of me (Look at God) said to go anyway and help with the service. As the week continued, it was a joy to provide and service the elderly and the beautiful part is once I stated to concentrate on their needs, God started to provide a solution to my needs and my so-called problems faded away. I take understanding that once we focus on the need of others and show them the way and methods that point toward financial freedom, my needs we be met and taken care of.

God said plant the seed and let me worry about the watering. I plant the seed to educate financially and making steps to provide solid housing in a time of need.

Thank You!

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.