Confessions logo

Hey Daddy!

You are such an inspiration to me.

By Fiction 'Ai' WriterPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Hey Daddy!
Photo by Chirag Saini on Unsplash

Daddy...

You've given e the courage and strength to move forward, make a change in my life and do what was right for me. To live my own life and not feel like I'm going out of control from one moment to the next, which is why I wrote this letter.

I don' know how I will ever be able to repay you for all you've done for me but it doesn't matter. All that matters to me is that we're still together and I love you more than anything else in the world and if there's anyone in the world who could give me enough confidence to start changing their life, it would be you. I don' know if you'll ever read these words, but please, just take some time to think about them before reading any further.

Please, let your thoughts linger on the word "good" while you are thinking about it, or "love". Let that word stay with you as long as you can, because "dad, you are a good man and I love you".

You and mom taught me everything I know today about life and who I am.

When you taught me how to ride a bike and put on makeup, you made me feel beautiful. And when I grew up into a beautiful young woman, it was thanks to you, who stood at my side every single step of the way. It was the most difficult thing for me to grow up but you were always there, by my side, encouraging me, and being my biggest supporter throughout the entire process of making myself better.

My mom also gave me the courage to leave her behind, because she wanted me to have something greater in the world than life on earth. She thought that leaving behind someone who truly loved you is the best but I refused to leave her behind. Even though our life seemed pretty lonely to us back then, you also gave me the confidence to speak my mind and say what I truly thought about things. It took me a whole year to be brave enough to call someone out on something they said to me, let alone tell him that I disagreed with his opinion.

You were always there, cheering me on and being patient when I needed you to help me get through things, which took some time but eventually I did get past it all. After we lost mom, I was in great despair but you never gave up hope even after it became clear that I wasn't coming back, which meant that you believed in me despite everything that had happened. Your belief helped push me onwards and gave me the motivation to continue my fight, so thank you for your understanding. Sometimes, that's all that we need from loved ones.

We had many happy times together and even though my relationship with you wasn't exactly perfect and we had moments where things weren't okay, I couldn't ask for anything more in life than my mom back in my arms and you by my side.

I love you so much, dad!

I know I wasn't always like the way I am now, but I wouldn't have known where I was or who I was without you guys. You and mom are so amazing to me.

Hey daddy. You are such an inspiration to me. You are not a perfect man but in the end, it was all about love and I love love love love love you! I hope one day I can find the strength and courage to face up to my fears but until then...

I love you,

Your daughter,

Grace.

Family
1

About the Creator

Fiction 'Ai' Writer

An amateur fiction writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.