Confessions logo

Hearing problems

Funny memory

By Adelle WebsterPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I had always been a quiet child I was really shy and took many years to come out of my shell and be more confident. In elementary school I never would have put my hand up to answer a question not even if you bribed me with a million dollars or unlimited amounts of chocolate. As the year went on not many concerns were raised until the teacher marked my test and was surprised that I had done really well as I never make contributions in class or never really participated in group work. Over the summer break my teacher put me forward to take some tests, testing for things such as autism etc but the funniest part about it all was that I was submitted for a hearing test despite having no difficulty with my hearing. Surprise surprise there was no issues with my hearing which my teacher was so shocked by and couldn’t understand why a made so little contribution in class as I clearly knew lots of things evident from my tests and I simply replied “I don’t like putting my hand up and I also never like the people I work in groups with as well as being extremely lazy” so the teacher made some changes to the groups and accepted the fact that I was a little shy but tried to get me to put my hand up more.

Fast forward 10 years to my 16th birthday which didn’t quite go to plan as I was a little bit reckless and ended up with a couple injuries after a day out with some friends which needed medical attention so off to the hospital I went with me needing to have some stitches after me being a bit of an idiot . My mum being the classic lovely and caring mum rushed to hospital panicking about what had happened to find out I was ok but I was awaiting further tests. The doctor came back and said that he would like to conduct a hearing test just to make sure that there was any damage after my fall and the head injury. He then pulled up and looked at my records and said “oh it looks like you have had a hearing test in the past” I was laughing knowing that it was during my time at elementary school and the reason for it but my mum looked at me and the doctor in horror insisting that I had never had a hearing test before in my life as surely she would have known about it. I said to her that I would explain it all afterwards. The doctor did his tests and concluded that everything was fine and that I was ok to go home on strict bed rest. In the car my mum immediately interviewed like I was being questioned by the police and once I told her the story and the reasoning behind my previous hearing test I don’t think I have ever heard her laugh so much in her whole entire life which was a really lovely thing to see and one I find absolutely hilarious as well but know is the talk at any family BBQ or party especially at Christmas when everyone is a little bit too drunk.

Needless to say if you want to avoid lots of tests in elementary school don’t be lazy just put your hand up or work in groups even if they are incredibly annoying as well as not being lazy! But most importantly always tell your mum!

Childhood
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.