Confessions logo

Government Rally at Midnight

Liquor + Intense Emotions = Disaster

By Jasmine S.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image taken from Pinterest

Those embarrassing moments that for some may have happened in a public setting, it could be falling down in front of your entire class or tripping over your own feet walking through downtown. There are more than a hundred ways anyone can embarrass themselves, probably at the time your one wish would be for the ground to open and swallow you, especially if there wasn't a quick getaway option.

But as time goes on the sting of embarrassment dissipates and you're able to look back, laugh at the situation and more than likely tell the story at family gatherings (or whatever) for shits and giggles. Then there are those moments that you never want mentioned ever again in life. So, I find myself dumbstruck writing about a situation in my life that I didn't want popping up in my head much less telling it to strangers on the internet, but here I am.

Here goes!

It is fascinating, that disgracing yourself among strangers would be preferable versus family. With strangers you can probably laugh it off or laugh about it later because in all likely hood you will not see them again and potentially forget the entire incident. On the other hand, family, you will see often which will constantly remind you of an event you would rather like to forget. But what about being embarrassed by a supposed loved one in front of strangers? Well, that happened to me and after all these years, it still plays in mind like a movie reel, beginning to end. Can someone hand me some scissors? Anyway, on with the story.

At the time, I attended a government rally with my then boyfriend and friends. It was packed, a lot of shoulder rubbing and excuse me's. Now, to give you a little background information so you understand my reaction for the scene to come. My boyfriend had a preference, which I was not, 'yellow-bone', thick or slim, did not matter the body type. This I knew but being young and in love I assumed there was something special about me why he decided to pursue, though that is not to say I was not severely self-conscious, I wasn't what he preferred.

Anywho, moving on. During the rally I had a few drinks, got a feel nice buzz going on. My boyfriend and I were not getting along to well and it just so happens that a girl who embodied his type walked pass, even I could not deny she was very good looking. But, as I'm standing there, I kid you not, he practically...no, literally devoured her with his eyes. You know the look, head to toe, toe to head, then another pass but slower, accompanied by biting his lip.

Liquor and volatile emotions are not a good combination, I went off like a rocket. In retrospect, I might have embarrassed him first, honestly, I did not care then (liquor speaking), and I certainly do not care now. In response, he proceeded to walk off, leaving the rally grounds. I decided to go after him, only after changing my mind about leaving, palm to face, yea, I went from red hot rage to crying and asking him not to leave. In my liquor infused state, I was not aware of our surroundings. I assumed because the lighting was low and being unable to see clearly, it would be the same for everyone else. Boy, was I wrong!

I tried to grab his arm to pull him to a stop, to explain, crying and talking loudly, by the way. For my troubles, I received a shove and a "Leave me the f*** alone!". I stood there for a solid two minutes watching him leave, only after I could not see him, I belatedly inspect the area and to my utter shame there were quite a few people sitting in darkened cars that had front row seats, staring and whispering. A bush would have been appreciated, but alas it was not to be.

After obsessing over that moment, trying to figure out what I could have done differently, hindsight is always 20/20, I should have walked away like I had originally planned.

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine S.

Born: The Bahamas, Grand Bahama

Trying my hand at short stories, I always liked to read but never thought I could write stories. It's never too late to start. I appreciate any reads or comments.

Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.