Confessions logo

For the first time I had the idea to quit voluntarily, overwhelmed by the gossip

The moon has its shades, and people have their sorrows and joys

By Turnell FeliuPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like
For the first time I had the idea to quit voluntarily, overwhelmed by the gossip
Photo by Andy Li on Unsplash

"The moon has its shades, and people have their sorrows and joys", regardless of our position, living in this world, each of us cannot have everything go smoothly every day, I am very happy that through my efforts, the business volume of the port has gradually increased, from the original two tugs to four tugs now, in just two months, the company In just two months, the company's tugboat turnover has doubled several times, my abilities have been recognized by the shipowner and other shareholders, and my salary has been adjusted twice. But the last stay in port by the shipowner's representative also put me in a great deal of trouble.

Perhaps because of my profession, I don't know when I started to suffer from "social phobia", but if I don't have to appear, I prefer to stay in a quiet place by myself. I know that this is a misunderstanding that cannot be washed away by jumping into the river, so I don't take the initiative to explain it. When it is difficult to bear, I always lock myself into the car, adjust the seat to a comfortable position, lock the doors and windows, listen to soft music and enjoy a short period of solitude in this isolated space.

It is said that "three women are one show", but for us on the tugboat, because we have more time for boredom, we are more likely to gossip about things. Even my assistant Wang and Xie would talk about it during work, leaving me particularly helpless. So what happens next? I continue the story.

I have always believed that time is not only the only criterion for testing the truth, but also one of the best ways to dissolve gossip, so I pretended not to hear the discussions among my port brothers and continued to work as normal. One day, by the company's daily business arrangements, I had to return to the company to report the consumption of materials for the previous month, so I came to the company's logistics department because I had a good relationship with the head of the logistics department, we often joked together. Something good must have happened, right? At first, I didn't think the gossip would reach the company headquarters, so I replied with a smile, "That's for sure! Thanks to my efforts, the pilot station is now willing to cooperate with our tugboat team". The head of the logistics department replied with a smile, "Honestly, brother, I envy you, you have a good career and a good love". I felt that there was something in his words, so I hastened to ask why, and only then did I realize that my misunderstanding with the ship owner's representative had reached the company headquarters. To be honest I had just had a bit of a boost in my career and was still very concerned about my reputation. I hastily asked the head of logistics who had made the nonsense up, after all, we were very close and later found out that it had been spread by a chief engineer on our tug.

Ports

The more I reacted, the more suspicion everyone would have of me. Afterward, I left with a brief explanation to the Head of Logistics, who, after all, could not have believed the gossip, or he would not have said it directly to my face. I wanted to go straight to the owner's representative's office to discuss ways to resolve the misunderstanding, but I was worried that being seen by everyone would aggravate the spread of the rumors and affect the owner's representative's reputation in the company. After a fierce battle of ideas, I finally chose to go back downstairs to my car and discuss my response with the owner's representative by telephone. Just as I reached the security room, the security guard I knew before saw me and hurriedly ran up to me saying "I saw you, I've been asking for your mobile number for the past few days"! I gave him a cigarette and asked, "What's wrong? Brother"! The security guard, a real person, looked around carefully and said to me, "Many people are talking about you when they pass by the entrance to and from work these days, and they are not very nice words, so you have to find a way to deal with it. I knew without asking that it must be about me and the ship owner's representative. At this moment I was deeply aware that things might be more serious than I thought, even the security brother knew about it, would the owner of the ship not know about it?

Suddenly I felt like I had a huge abyss in front of me. If the shipowner believed the rumor and a scandal emerged between me and his sister-in-law, then no matter how much I had contributed to the company, it was the end of my career at this moment. The more I thought about it, the more frightened I became, and after thanking the security guard for his reminder, I answered the car and contacted the shipowner's representative, and soon the call was answered, and I immediately asked anxiously, "Sister, are you at the office? I have something to tell you"! The shipowner's representative was exceptionally calm at the moment and said with a smile, "Brother, is it about my stay at the port the other day? After hearing the owner's representative's reply, I hastily replied, "Yes, sister, what should we do about this? Everyone has misunderstood us, even the company's security guards know about it"! The owner's representative did not answer my question directly, but said, "You are in the company now, right? Come to my house first, I'm not working these days"! With that, I drove straight to the owner's representative's home.

It was the first time I had ever been faced with such a difficult situation and I was apprehensive deep down. I couldn't help but worry about my job's future, but I was also worried about the reputation of the shipowner's representative. At least I wouldn't get the owner's representative involved, but inside I was really upset that something that was not there was being spread around! So what happens next? I continue the story.

When I parked my car and walked into the shipowner's representative's neighborhood, even my behavior changed quietly, and I looked around from time to time for fear of encountering company employees. I felt the horror of "gossip". I soon arrived at the owner's representative's door, took a deep breath, rang the doorbell and the owner's representative opened the door for me lazily in his pajamas. To be honest, if I had looked at the representative of the shipowner in this state, I would have made fun of her, but at the moment, stimulated by the gossip, I was even a little too shy to even look at the representative of the shipowner in the face. Changing into a pair of slippers, I entered the house of the boat owner's representative. It was a bright sunny day, but because the curtains of the boat owner's representative's house were tightly closed, it was dark everywhere and the environment seemed extraordinarily ambiguous. I immediately drew the curtains, and as the light entered, the house brightened up at once, even my heart.

Seeing my appearance and my extra nervousness in opening the curtains, the representative of the shipowner stood next to me and laughed out loud, and then said, "Brother, this is not your style! There is nothing between us, we are not afraid of the shadow, why are you so nervous? After hearing what the ship owner's representative said, I was particularly helpless and said, "Sister, you don't even go to work anymore, do you still think it's not serious? Sometimes when more people spread rumors, people believe them"! The ship owner's representative turned around and took out a bottle of drink from the fridge and handed it to me, saying "Don't worry, have a cold drink to calm down first, things are not as serious as you think"! I drank the iced drink handed to me by the ship owner's representative and asked, "Sister, what should we do about this? Do you have any good ideas"? Perhaps my performance was too strong, and the shipowner's representative also became serious at this moment. I took it upon myself to take a break at home to find out what was going on"!

After listening to the shipowner's representative's comments, there seemed to be a sense that there was something in the words, so I seemed to wake up a little and asked "Sister, do you mean to say that someone is deliberately trying to fix me with this? The owner's representative said with a smile "mainly because you are too good to attract jealousy"! I asked, "I understand that the first person who spread the news to the company was an old rail on the tugboat, and I have no grudge against him. Why would he do that? The owner's representative smiled and said, "It's true that the chief engineer was the first one to spread the news to the company, but he was just a pawn to be used, there was someone behind him to direct him, as to who it was, I won't tell you, it was a battle between the shareholders, but I have reported this matter to the boss, the boss should be on the same team with us. After hearing the owner's representative's explanation, although I was somewhat relieved inside, more than that, I was bitter. I suddenly found that the higher my position, the more challenges I faced, and to think that I had a scandal with the owner's representative on the ship before, but it was quickly cracked, but now inside the company, I seemed to be a bit overwhelmed. The misunderstanding had been created and the uninformed brothers in the port were now misunderstanding me, which was a huge obstacle to my future work. The shipowner's representative suggested that I should "leave it to time to sort it out", but I disagreed with her and soon came up with a solution.

WorkplaceHumanity
Like

About the Creator

Turnell Feliu

People who shiver from the cold can best appreciate the warmth of the sun. Those who have experienced life's troubles know best the preciousness of life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.