Confessions logo

First Grandmother reelection

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 25 days ago 3 min read
First Grandmother reelection
Photo by Ravi Patel on Unsplash

Here we go again. And I am tired of that damn commercial. My son is popular. My son is prestigious. My son is honorable. I can't stand the TV during campaigning. They just say awful things about everyone. And the public can't believe that garbage. And I wonder who the other party is gonna pick. They all seem to be water-down. Over the years, Bernie, Cindy and I have done great things. We put the people first. We cared for seniors and veterans. We outdid our opponents. We were tough. We were strong. We were capable. But now all that doesn't matter because the press loves sensation. They love making the president look like a tyrant. Well you know me. I am not gonna take it. I am not gonna let them tear down progress. If they want a rough election then that is just what they are gonna get. So I marched right into Bernie's office. saying Son we have to talk. Bernie excused his guests and when they left said Mom you have to understand I am president remember courtesy and diplomacy. That was the first lesson you taught me. And he walked towards the windows of the Oval Office, and I said yes son but your dignity is being torn down. You are losing the American people. A sitting president has to tie and bind but in an election you are currently a sitting duck. You have to concentrate on the campaign trail. Bernie said Mom it is not more important than keeping the country together besides I would rather win dignfiied than dirty. I said Whoa politics are all about getting dirty. You can be truthful and clean but also you have to be keen and aware. If you keep slipping in the polls then you will never recover. That is all I am saying son and Mr. President. And I walked right out of the room. Cindy met me on my way to the Rose Garden she said Mother Betty what do you suggest we do? I said you got to show that the president still wants his job that he still wants to be president that he is still the only unifier. And she said how? What would you suggest we do for the campaign? I said it can be as simple as making campaign ads showing his progress, achievement and values. She said you're hired. I want you to make the campaign platform and message. I will talk to Bernie afterall we are in this together. And we hugged and I said you were always like a daughter. My son pick a winner. So that night I called old campaigners and friends. We built a community network across the country and I asked for ads ideas. We sweated and we fought many nights and days. We had many representatives of the campaign sought to the press. And after sometime we started to turn around the numbers. Bernie eventually realized that the country changed and started being excited about the campaign and sharing his achievements. And Bernie was winning especially after his town hall, where he looked like a Modern Kennedy and he spoke clear like Obama wearing a fancy suit. And Cindy started to look younger in her designer dresses and outfits. And the family picture made America fall in love with Bernie again. Then it hit just a month in, Senator Forge's allies were trying to persuade their voters to vote for the other candidate. BUt we travail eventually on election night, my son singlehandedly won and as the balloons fell both Bernie and Cindy kiss and hug me in the campaign headquarters. And Mrs. Claudy was there with her family in the front, standing and clapping and I invited her on stage with her family. We won period and history knows that.

Family

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MPWritten by Matthew Primous

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.