Confessions logo

First Date Horror Story

What Can Go Wrong, Will Go Wrong

By Elena AthonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
Image by SubbotinaA on Yay Images

I was really excited about going on our first date with John.

We had been out with friends a few times, but it was the first time the two of us would go out and have a real date.

We agreed that he would pick me up from work, and we had plans to go out for a movie and then for dinner.

I wanted to look as good as possible, so I knew I had to take time to do my makeup.

I love wearing makeup, and I buy new products all the time.

You can never have enough, can you?

Lesson Learned #1

Don’t wear makeup you haven’t wore before on a first date.

I had purchased a new mascara that promised to make your eyelashes longer, voluminous, and amazing.

I went quickly to the bathroom at my office, put on the makeup, and used the new mascara.

I looked at myself in the mirror and really liked the mascara.

I didn’t have much time, so I headed straight to the street where we were supposed to meet.

It was then that I felt my eyes watering.

Ooops, the new mascara had irritated my eyes.

“Don’t panic, don’t panic, don’t PANIC,” was all I could think.

But no matter what I was saying to myself, I didn’t believe me.

Lesson Learned #2

Sometimes when you want something, the universe conspires against you.

I had a gut feeling that this would go more south than this, and it did.

As I struggled to wipe the tears running down my cheeks, I felt something in my eye.

One of my contact lenses popped out of my eye.

I don’t have the same degrees on both eyes, one is 5.75, and the other is 2.50.

Guess which one popped out?

Drums, please…

And you are right, it was the 5.75 one.

Lesson Learned #3

Always carry your glasses with you.

By that time, I didn’t know if I had any makeup left on me as my tears were acting like a makeup remover.

I was so frustrated that I wanted to cry, but I was already crying from the mascara.

It was our first date with John, and I wanted to look good.

I don’t know how I looked at that moment, but I’m sure I wouldn’t impress you.

Probably I would have scared you.

As I stood on the street, almost blind since everything looked blurred, a car stopped right in front of me.

“Thank God,” I thought.

At least my date had arrived.

I could tell him to drive me to my apartment to get cleaned up just in time to get to the movies.

I fixed my hair - as if that was the problem - and opened the car door.

I forced myself to put on a smile and get over the embarrassment.

I tried to hide my face and didn’t know what to say.

“Hi, John!” I said.

“Sorry, but I’m not John.”

My blood ran cold.

The man’s voice didn’t sound familiar at all.

I turned my head and looked at the man. I had to get near him to see his face because I couldn’t see well without my contact lens.

The man moved away from me. I must have looked scary.

“Move back, girl. What do you want from me?” he said.

Suddenly I saw lights flashing from a car that was behind us.

And then I heard John’s voice yelling.

“Elena, come on, I’m over here!”.

It was John.

By now, I’m sure you realized that I was in the wrong car.

“Get out of my car,” the man said.

I swallowed my pride, opened the door, and moved towards John’s car.

I almost hit a trash can on my way to the car. Fortunately, at the last minute, I avoided it.

Lesson Learned #4

Walk slowly if you’re not sure where you’re going.

I got in John’s car and sat on the passenger seat. John looked at me and started giggling.

“You look amazing... for a zombie”, he said.

“It looks that bad, huh…” I said.

John flipped the sun visor and told me to look in the mirror.

Words cannot describe how I looked.

I was a mess.

I looked like a combination of a raccoon and a 2-year old that played around with her mother’s makeup.

Fortunately, John drove me to my apartment. I removed my makeup, wore my glasses, and we headed straight for dinner.

Lesson Learned #5

Stay positive even when things don’t go as planned.

We didn’t make it on time for the movie.

It didn’t matter it was a horror film, John had already seen me, and I looked like a zombie, so I guess he didn’t have to see another one,

I remember that night because at the dinner we had a great time.

We laughed so much as we were talking about what happened.

It was one of the best nights of my life...

Embarrassment
4

About the Creator

Elena Athon

Blogging has allowed me to explore my creativity and voice in ways that I never knew were possible - all while connecting with people who are passionate about the same things as myself. Check out my blog: www.butterfulsoul.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.