Confessions logo

Fifty jobs and counting

21-30

By Luke Simpson Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

job 21 was when I moved to California. I was sick of my ex and moved in with my parents for a little bit. It was in the middle of summer and I started working at Sprouts as a cashier. I did everything there from stocking shelves, helping in the meat department, cleaning bathrooms, and even working in the bakery as well.

It was a decent job, lame pay, good boss, hot co workers, and full time hours. Being a cashier is easy, memorizing all the codes for vegetables was a bitch tho. All in all not too bad a job, I quit a few months later when I moved to a new city.

Job 22 was for a call center and the job was cold calling and selling magazines and for every subscription we sold, then groups like the special olympics and Mothers against drunk driving would get a small cut. It was soo fucking hard selling shit over the phone. I lasted a month, but during training I got to sit next to a few crackheads who were tweaking hard while we were watching training videos. I was the worst salesmen there, and hmmm fuck that job.

Job 23 I got working at Pieology. It was a create your own pizza place. We made small pizzas through a line almost like subway. I did the assembly line and worked the oven as well. I did get free food so that was a plus, but the hours were shit and the pay was garbage. I worked with a few coworkers that were cute though, and worked on my flirting game a lot. I did burn my hand and got second degree burns while accidentally knocking off a super hot tray and catching it on accident. It took a few days for my wounds to fully heal, and my work didn’t give a shit. Fuck Melissa and Mel aka not their real names.

Job number 24 was when I moved to Idaho; rex burg Idaho to be exact. I started off working at another call center this time doing political surveys. They were incredibly dumb, misleading, boring, and it was tough getting anyone dumb enough to answer these questions that were so obviously written by someone with a bias.

It was lame, but I did get to read a lot while I made those calls. If you didn’t get enough surveys done, the supervisors would get pissed. The supervisors also weighed like four hundred pounds so I was always scared they would be so mad they would sit on me and I would die. I quit after a month of hell, and went to a job that sucked even worse.

Job 25 was suprise another call center this time helping people find information about college. If they had accidentally selected some ad that they wanted info on college programs, we would get their number and cold call them. We would try and get them to agree for us to find some colleges near them that has a program that we can send information for them to look at. We were not supposed to look at Facebook or Twitter or Pinterest, especially me because I couldn’t get anyone to do shit. I still did and got in trouble all the time, but it was a shitty job and I have had a lot of shitty jobs. It was incredibly tough and most people did not want to be bothered and hare added about college information.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Luke Simpson

I love writing poems, short stories, fiction, non fiction and just the art of writing in and of itself. Books and stories are the key to learning and using your imagination to travel to far and distant lands.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.