Confessions logo

Field Trip Fail

Among The Trees

By Malik LaFonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have very little talent.I'm one of those kids that was gifted in element and then it was downhill from there.I'm not the sharpest knife in the drawer.No athletic ability to speak of.However,the one ability i do have is the skill of avoidance. That very technique is how I ended up in the trees.

Math was my worst subject.I went through great lengths to stay out of the class.I even went as far as skipping school to avoid it.Of course that didn't last very long.While I have the skill of avoidance I do not process the ability to be sneaky.

Since skipping school was out of the question It was back to math class. However there is one way to get out of class without major repercussions.A field trip.It just so happened that there was an open spot on trip to go zip lining. So with a little effort I ended up snagging the open spot.

This was also the day I learned that research is important.I was so busy trying to secure the spot it had slipped my mind about our destination.All I knew was that we would be zip lining. Sounded easy enough.Or so I thought.

The trip was to a place called Adventure Park.This place was the exact opposite of what I was expecting.They instructions told us that there were different levels of difficulty. Obviously I was the only one that was confused.I mean how hard could it be to attach yourself to rope.

Turns out this place was like a park in the trees.There were different ways to get from tree to tree.Again I was the only person that didn't know what was going on. I finally figured out that Adventure Park was about 10% zip lining

As I mentioned before I have zero athletic ability did manage to make though the obstacles that came my way.That made my confidence level shoot up.I decided I was ready for something more difficult.I soon learned that making your way pass 2 of the easiest course does not make you a professional climber.

I started the next course,and was going through it with ease.With each puzzle I became more and more confident. I was soaring though the park.Then on one of the more challenging obstacles my confidence dropped.Along with my body.

Thanks to the safety harness I was never in any real danger.Knowing that fact didn't make hanging in the air more enjoyable.The world was spinning and I was losing my mind.Thanks to a classmate I was able to reach one of the platforms.Even though I was safe my feet were not moving.Adventure Park had become the birthplace for my fear of heights.

Due to the paralyzing fear my body refused to more.The teacher had to get one of the park employees to come up and bring me down.The entire time they were looking for help I was clinging on to the tree beside me.

There I was a 6'3 man being picked up and brought back to the ground.Even though I was red with embarrassment no one actually notice me.They were too busy climbing though the trees.I was expecting everyone to be talking about me the next day at school ,but no one said a word.

Even though I wasn't completely sure if anyone noticed or not.It still doesn't take away from the intense embarrassment I felt.I was hugging a tree.Plus I had someone carry me back down to the ground. Every time I think about it my face begins to heat up.

In the end I didn't really learn my lesson.I still avoid things I hate or don't want to do.All I got from the trip was a new fear of heights and an embarrassing story.On the bright side I did pass math,so hopefully I will never have to see that class again.

I don't normally practice what I preach.However the lesson in this story is:Don't avoid everything,because most of the time you will have to do it eventually

Embarrassment
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.