Confessions logo

Falling in Love with My Best Friend

My Story of Regret

By Martian Published about a year ago 3 min read
17
Falling in Love with My Best Friend
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I never thought I would have a best friend. Growing up, I never had anyone to share my thoughts with or to confide in. That all changed when I met William in college.

We met at the science expo in our college. At first, it was just a normal conversation. We exchanged numbers and talked about our interests. The expo lasted for seven days, and during that time, we grew closer. We talked about everything, from our favorite movies to our dreams for the future.

After a year, William became my best friend. We shared everything with each other, from the smallest details of our day to late-night conversations. We called each other every day, and I felt like I could tell him anything.

But one day, everything changed. William's mother didn't like our friendship. She thought we were lovers and started spying on him when he talked to me on the phone. He became uncomfortable and decided to speak to me only when his mom wasn't around. I appreciated his effort, but our daily conversations turned into weekly conversations.

I knew he was busy with work and had a lot on his plate, but I couldn't handle the void his absence left in my life.

By Simran Sood on Unsplash

Then I realized that I had fallen in love with him. I knew he didn't feel the same way, so I kept my feelings to myself.

After several months, William started to tell me that we were just friends. I was scared that if he knew how I felt, he would leave me. I believed that one day he would be there for me, but not just as a friend. However, his actions showed me that he would never feel the same way.

So, I decided to stay away from him. I knew that we would both get hurt, but it was the only choice I had left. I miss him terribly, but I know that it's better for both of us if we stay apart. Maybe one day, we can be friends again, but for now, I'll keep my feelings to myself and cherish the memories we made together.

The thing is, falling in love with your best friend is not an uncommon experience. It's a feeling that is both wonderful and terrifying. On one hand, you get to experience the magic of being in love with someone who knows you better than anyone else. On the other hand, the thought of losing that person and potentially ruining the friendship is daunting

When I realized that I had feelings for William, I knew that I had to be careful. I didn't want to ruin what we had. I tried to push those feelings down and focus on our friendship. However, the more I tried to ignore my feelings, the stronger they became.

I found myself constantly thinking about him, wondering if he felt the same way. I was too scared to tell him how I felt, though. I didn't want to risk losing him.

It was hard when William started to distance himself from me. I missed him terribly, but I knew that I had to respect his boundaries. I didn't want to make him uncomfortable.

Looking back on that time in my life, I realize that I learned a lot about myself and about love. I learned that sometimes, it's better to take a risk and tell someone how you feel. Even if things don't work out, at least you won't have any regrets.

William will always hold a special place in my heart, and I'll always cherish the memories we made together.

The End.

FriendshipSecrets
17

About the Creator

Martian

Fantasy - Writer

Secrets - Teller

Information - Provider

Sometimes - Teacher

Awareness - Maker

Come along with me as I investigate the limitless possibilities of Everything. Together, let's make something spectacular.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.