Confessions logo

Exciting First Date and Disastrous First Impression

The complete truth about a huge embarrassment

By Olivia DellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Let me just start off by saying, I am a huge klutz. And unfortunately, more common than not, it comes in the form of injuring myself seemingly out of nowhere. Whether it's tripping, falling, dropping my phone on my face as I'm laying in bed, or in this case like I have quite a few times prior, running into things.

Now during this particular accident, it happened during a quite exciting and rather important event: a first date. It was some years back during the time I was still living in Southern California. I had met a guy a few years older than me on a dating app. We ended up hitting it off pretty quickly and as an added bonus he was really quite handsome. We eventually decided to go out on a date together. We decided a time and a place to meet. During the day and obviously somewhere public and well populated to be safe.

We decided to meet at the pier near my house. On top of that I ended up having to take my dog down with me, but thankfully it worked out just fine considering he was also a fellow animal lover. As I made my way down to the pier I soon came to realize that there were countless people out, it was so busy! Not only was the weather nice but it was also the day before St. Patrick’s Day so you I’m sure you can imagine just how chaotic it was. So with that being said, considering my dog Winston’s smaller size I decided it was best to pick him up and carry him to avoid anyone accidentally stepping on him.

I honestly had no idea how I’d be able to find him! But somehow by the grace of God we were able to spot each other eventually. And what was even more great was the fact that he was just as handsome as he was in his photos if not more! I was definitely pleased.

As soon as we saw each other he gave me a big hug and a polite kiss on the cheek and we were off! As we walked down to the pier I was bubbly and babbling most likely from the excitement and first date jitters. He was more quiet and calm but still attentive and had no problem holding up his end of the conversation. Once we were approaching the beginning of the pier we realized it was even busier!

So as we walked onto the pier I was completely distracted by weaving through the sea of people and talking to him that I wasn’t looking where I was going at all! And boom! I walked straight into one of those large but short bright yellow poles with the rounded tops that stood in a row to prevent cars from driving onto the pier. And oh man did it hurt! I hit it right in the middle and it hit me right in the stomach. Of course I let out a very loud and pained, “Oh!” right then and there and he had unfortunately witnessed the whole thing of course.

And like most people would react, he couldn’t help but be shocked and concerned but most definitely have a great laugh about it. I of course was mortified. To be honest as much as it hurt I think my feelings of embarrassment were much stronger. Of course he asked if I was all right and if I needed to sit down or if he could get me any ice for my stomach by I assured him I was all right. And most importantly Winston, who I was carrying in my arms, fortunately managed to escape the ridiculous accident completely unscathed.

But once things settled down we continued on with our date which including good conversations, good food, and certainly good laughs. And to top it off the date was such a success that we actually ended up continuing on into a relationship for almost an entire year afterwards!

End

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Olivia Dell

Hello everyone! My name is Olivia but everyone calls me Bonez. I'm currently 24 years old and I live in Oklahoma but originally from Los Angeles. Writing is one of my biggest passions and I hope you enjoy my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.