Confessions logo

Don't Burn Yourself Out: Learn From My Experience

A Burnout Recovery Journey Story

By Candice ZakariyaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Don't Burn Yourself Out: Learn From My Experience
Photo by Tiago Bandeira on Unsplash

Trying to live life in a state of chronic exhaustion and detachment is one of the most tough seasons I’ve experienced.

I know exactly what attributed to my burnout:

  • My husband had to leave for an active duty assignment, right before the summer started.
  • I was solo parenting our sons, ages 4 and 6 (both on the Autistic Spectrum), through the summer and into a new school year.
  • My marriage was on the “struggle bus” and my husband and I couldn’t communicate as we needed to because of his military duties.
  • I transitioned to working full-time with an additional new role that I was excited about.
  • I was doing some unfulfilling work that I had hoped would be off-loaded, but it never did.

The Breaking Point — The Effect of My Chronic Stress

My long-term stress, combined with both physical and emotional exhaustion, resulted in my feeling apathetic about most things.

  • My responsibilities? I was dropping the balls, left and right.
  • My work? I got anxious every time I looked at my laptop.
  • My mornings? I could barely get myself out of bed.
  • My hobbies? I had nothing. Does sleep count?
  • My marriage? I almost gave up on us.

My First Step Toward Healing from Chronic Stress and Burnout

I finally talked to my doctor about it all — She affirmed depression and burnout were what I was experiencing.

The causes of my burnout were manifold, but the symptoms for every person can vary.

However, most people realize that when they are feeling …

  • A loss of control over your life
  • Feeling emotionally exhausted; and
  • A sense of ineffectiveness

… it doesn’t seem right and something has to change.

I had a moment of truth when a therapist reminded me that if I was experiencing these particular challenges for longer than 2–3 weeks; it is more likely a chronic mental illness.

I should have known this because of my background in counseling.

Burnout is a complex issue, and it is important to look at the entire picture when trying to address it.

This should include talking with your doctor and/or therapist about what you are feeling, as well as how much you’re:

  • Working
  • Sleeping; and
  • Socializing

Just be honest about how you’re doing, and what your work-life balance is like.

Find Healing and Healing Through an Extended Time Off of Work

Soon after talking with my boss, he suggested I take some time off of work.“How about three months?” he suggested.

It sounded too good to be true, and I almost sabotaged an opportunity to receive a gift of rest because — I hate to admit it...

I’m a recovering workaholic.

Long story short, I agreed to take a three-month leave of absence and I needed it more than I realized.

And I prepared myself to return to work soon after.

I must admit, I was feeling just a little anxiety, but I believed I was equipped to set boundaries in my life and protect my rest as a regular practice.

Was I really ready to return back to work?

The story continues. Stay tuned in to read what happened after my three month leave from work.

Want To Read More About My Burnout Recovery Journey? Follow me!

Never miss future stories by following me here on Vocal Media, Twitter, and Medium.

Subscribe to my newsletter for weekly resources, tips, and reads that will help you launch your digital business!

...

Candice Zakariya is the CEO and founder of Her Digital Lemonade™ 🍋, where she helps creative women launch dynamic digital businesses so they can earn an income doing what they love!

Workplace
Like

About the Creator

Candice Zakariya

🍋 CEO of Her Digital Lemonade™ | Helping creative women launch dynamic digital businesses | 3x Medium Top Writer | Subscribe: subscribepage.io/herdigitallemonade

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.