Confessions logo

death by spiders

how the human race came to end with the help of spiders

By Nneka AniezePublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like
death by spiders
Photo by Robert Thiemann on Unsplash

Death by spiders

If I told you to predict the end of the Human race, would it ever occur to you to include mutated spider infestation? Would you everything arise that spreadsheet of spiders would emerge to wipe out more than half of the worlds population interest one year? But that’s exactly what happened five years ago. The spiders were first scene in Australia when a group of a killer just discovered the remains of some ancient cat. They thought the cats must have been there along with the dinosaurs but what they didn’t know it was that within the bones of the remains were unknown species of spiders white in colour that has a colony within the bones of the cat. When the bones was taken from the discovery sites to US a for a closer inspection, just still unnoticed colony of spiders were ultimately moved across the continent.

That was when the Pattern emerged. At first, the scientist thought the death of the explorers three days after coming back to the US base lab was alarming but before they could finish the autopsy for the seven colleges under assistance, it was already an outbreak of similar deaths around the village where the bones were discovered and another one at the airport.

“ Lost in your own world again?” Becky asked as she came to join me in the quiet room. We were both in the most recent clear to save heaven. That was the name given to houses that has been completely sanitized of the Omansa or invisible death crawlers also called IDCS for sure.

“Just writing about things,” I told her. I had only met the white lady last night when I was sanitized, tagged and admitted into the building.

“So you keep a diary. I heard about that,” she said with a kind smile making it sound more like a statement instead of a question.

I didn’t smile back. I didn’t have any reason to be kind and I wasn’t in the mood to be polite.

“You did.“

“Yes. Words travel fast and even though this place is huge, they are very little people here and we keep a close eye on each other,“ she disclosed.

“I knew that. I heard about this place from a friend,” I told her.

Ruth had told me about the sanctuary. She was my best friend travelling with me and my two kids with her husband and her younger brother. I can’t even bear to think about the side that I was the only one who made it.

“I know,“ I repeated, still not in the mood to make small talk but she was the floor caretaker Hence the torture.

“I heard about what happened to your ….. i’m sorry,“ she said when she couldn’t bring herself to finish the sentence.

My hand automatically went to the necklace that had my heart shaped like it and my wedding ring. The locket house did the picture of my babies, Mobi and Kaima. I had to take out my wedding ring because I lost so much weight that it wouldn’t stay on and I wasn’t about to risk losing it. I finger the jewelries as I thought about how I lost my husband, then my two kids and later my best friend and her family.

I noted my head to work knowledge of sympathy but my mind was already going back five years ago when Jake and I had first heard about the outbreak on the news. The news had said an Asian species of spiders were just discovered by archeologists and the spiders might be the end of humanity as we knew it. The social media was calling them the invisible death crawlers. The news anchor had gone into details on how the spider bite was enough to kill a human being and the rate at which the spider reproduce asexually.

According to the findings relayed by the news man, the first sign that one has been bitten was hallucination, followed by a high fever. The person will eventually die of toxic shock syndrome, anaphylactic reaction, a heart attack or in some severe cases, rapid multiple organ failure and there was no cure or antidote to counteract the effects or slow down the spread of the venom. The most frustrating thing was the nature of the idcs. They were sad to be smaller than Patu Digua which was considered the smallest spider in the world. They also had strange reproductive process because they can produce asexually. Just one single spider could play more than 100 eggs on separate Acacian up to six times in a day and the eggs took less than an hour to hatch. And that wasn’t the scariest part. That was the fact that when bitten, a person had less than three hours before meeting his maker.

The faith believe resisted it was the Lord come to cleanse the world. They might have been right because in less than a year since the discovery, it has spread around the globe and claimed more than half of the human race and a good number of the animal race as well but no one was counting the animals. Eventually the faith believers decided this couldn’t have been God because a good number of people from the community were also victims.

“How bad is it out there?” Becky asked, still determined on small talk. I wondered how bored she might be if she was willing to hang out with me even though I was giving her monosyllabic replies.

“Very bad.“

“I can imagine. Last time I was out there, I watched like 20 people die in front of me in a day and I was told it was a good day,“ she said and shuddered.

“Indeed,“ I replied. That was a small number.

“What stage did your husband die if I may ask?“

I looked at her, I fronted that she would be so forward in her prying. She didn’t look repentant in the list. She was asking me what stage my husband died in, she wanted to know if he died during hallucination or from multiple organ failure or anaphylactic attack and he just blew my mind that she would be callous enough to ask that. As if she couldn’t see I was disgusted by her presence, she gave me a smile she thought might be encouraging but I just kept looking at her, forcing her to acknowledge her stupidity and take herself away from my presence.

She eventually looked away after a few seconds, that shameless woman.

“I am here to talk if you need someone to listen,“ she said and left.

I didn’t reply to her. I was already thinking of Dayton , my husband and the father of my babies. We had just finished spider proofing the house according to the recent guideline provided by the health department and was getting ready to stay indoors as directed by the government when he started acting strange. He started talking to invisible people in the living room. And as I watched from the doorway, my heart broke into thousand pieces.

“I don’t think they are mine Pam. No, they don’t look like me. I swear. One of them has a horn, and how can that be?“ I heard my husband saying to an empty room. “Twins don’t even run in my family. They walk,“ he said with all seriousness. Pam was the name of his twin sister who had died of cancer years ago and apparently he was hallucinating her and telling her that his kids, were not his.

“Who are you talking to, love?“ I had asked, coming into the room. I already could tell the symptoms of the spider bite from the crazy and tortured Luke on his handsome face.

“Tell me a pound of those kids are not ours, babe. They can’t be,“ he explained, coming over to stand in front of me.

I pulled out my portable thermometer and took his temperature

“Are you feeling hot, dagrin ?” I asked seeing as his temperature was over 41 Celsius.

“I feel fine. Just listen. You are not listening,“ he said, taking me by the shoulder and shaking me a little bit as if he could shake some sense into me.

That was when I saw the two almost invisible spiders crawl out from between his braids. My poor baby. Tears had filled my eyes as I backed away from him.

“What’s wrong, beem? Why are you crying?“

“I think you got bitten. The spiders bit you,” I repeated never imagining I would have to say those words to him. I honestly thought the government would get the creatures under control before they could get to my family.

My first instinct had been to take him to the hospital but the second was to do as directed by the healthcare unit and that was to move away from any area that a spider has been found because where there was one, there was a nest of egg that could already be hatched.

My words must have gotten through to him because he looked at me with such broke and lost face as if he could not believe what was happening.

“I got bit? You have to do it baby. You have to do it then take the kids and run away.“

“I can’t but we do have to go because the longer we stay here the more exposed we become,“ I explain to him back and away from him as he did the same from me.

But I ended up doing it. We had promised each other that if one of us should get a bid, the other one would have to do the necessary and put the affected down. Leaving someone in the throes of hallucination was delaying the inevitable and exposing other people to the danger that come from hallucination and also allowing his symptoms to proceed to a more painful Alcom. So I had taken out the gun from the safe and put a hole in the head of my childhood sweetheart. That was for years ago. I had to do it again to my son three years later, then my daughter, then my best friend. Just why couldn’t the spider had taken me first? Wasn’t it tasty enough?

Anyways, I was tired of floating alone in this world among the few live in beans. Tomorrow, I plan to join my family and friends but tonight, I wanted to try the chicken and mashed potato on the menu. Someone should have a good meal before dying at least.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Nneka Anieze

Hello there,

Nice to meet you. My name is Nneka, mom of one living in Windsor, Ontario. I enjoy reading a lot and have decided to try my hand at writing. Hoping to better my skills and perfect my writing skills. I hope you enjoy my writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.