Confessions logo

Dear Unknown Man

An anonymous letter to someone

By Rambler's SocietyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dear Unknown Man
Photo by Jordan Whitt on Unsplash

You talk of pessimism and venom. I drown out your nasty thoughts. I can’t. I can’t listen to one more angry, sad, frustrating, dumb, horrible, evil, thing you heard recently. It is always the same, just switch a few words around. You sound like a tape recorder, repeating the same information every time I see you. If you had anything positive to say then things would be different. That's of course you make time to talk about anything other than corruption and spite.

The world is corrupt, I get it. People want to use you, I know. The world is a huge scary place and you've done your part thus far. You've lived your life, seen what you've wanted to see, done what you've wanted to do. So why should you stop? You hide behind your age but again and again, we've seen it's your demographic that makes an impact stick. If you could just redirect your apathetic nature into a productive one. It's as if I am listening to a brick wall, preaching to anyone that would listen but ignoring even the smallest mouse.

If you truly believe in what you preach then why sit there with your thumb in your mouth. You've given up. I can tell, maybe everyone else already knows it. I just know that I can't put up with it anymore. Why is it that you bring up negativity and malice every time you see me? Is it me or is it the realiaty of the situation? I can't bring myself to care anymore. I sit there while you yammer on about nothing. It isn't nothing, but there is no substance. Your concerns are valid but you refuse to listen to facts and statistics. You claim that it's all made up anyway, you say you will change your opinion given the right information but what information will you actually listen to?

I saw a post that read,

"I just told my wife “I’m sorry we have to raise children in these dystopian times”

She recalled a quote she read just today:

"Never feel sorry for raising dragon slayers in a time when there are actual dragons”.

@Kdawg0_0

One thing I've learned in my short time on this planet, that tough times result in two types of people. There are the type of people that spit venom on what has happened but continue on in sad misery. Then there are the types of people that persevere and strive for better. If you honestly don't care about anyone besides yourself and your family, then why not think about your grandkids. What will their futures be like?

No one is coming after you, you are sitting there complaining about an issue that you choose not to fix. Now I understand that not every issue can be fixed with a single person, but you aren't trying. I want to see people striving every day for a better tomorrow. Even if I don't see this tomorrow, I want it for everyone else. For my kids, and their kids. For their nieces and nephews, for their friends, husbands, and wives. Nothing in this world is resolved from worrying about yourself and only yourself. Realistically, it's the only sensible thing to do.

So now, when we see each other, I have to selectively tune your words out of every conversation. Every time I decide to listen, I become more and more frustrated. So please, do us all a favor and stop. Stop whatever you've become and do something for future generations. I want life to be good for me, for my kids, and for others. Maybe I'm asking too much of you. I guess we'll never know. I can't stand up to you, it wouldn't be my place, ironically enough.

I can’t listen to one more angry, sad, frustrating, dumb, horrible, evil, thing you heard recently because I have faith in the future. I want to raise, good smart, kids, I want to start my own business, I want to live life happily. I also want these things for future generations. So why don’t you?

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Rambler's Society

Hello everyone! I write fictional surreal stories and poems. I love writing and I hope that you enjoy reading what I've to offer. I have plenty more written down on my website so I'd love it if you'd go check it out!

ramblersociety.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.