Confessions logo

Dear Mom, How Are You?

I miss you a lot

By Mehedi Hasan ShawonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Dear Mom, How Are You?
Photo by Xavier Mouton Photographie on Unsplash

My dear mother,

Feelings cannot be expressed in words. Yet I wrote a little letter to you. I miss you so much. I have never been able to say a word to you. You are far away now. I haven't seen you for a long time. I do not know if you can read it? I remember having a road accident when I was thirteen. I was nearly dead then. I needed a lot of money for my treatment. But there was not enough money. Dad didn't work properly.

You worked hard and earned money. You sold your favorite gold jewelry when I was seriously ill after the accident. You were very worried about me. I have to save my life so you did not hesitate to sell your favorite jewelry. You worked hard and bought jewelry but couldn't use it.

Dear Mother, By the time I was twenty years old, I was mature enough. After your marriage to my father, you fell into boundless misery. You told me about your past miserable life for several days. I still remember you shedding tears one day and saying that when I was in your womb you worked in a garment factory in your infancy.

There were many difficulties in your movement. Couldn't work properly. Still, to survive, you had to work. Because my father did not work. He did not make money. You got a holiday just four days before the day I was born. The authorities of ruthless and stony garments did not give you enough leave. I cried silently after hearing this. I didn't let you understand.

From that day on I promised myself that I would earn a lot of money and keep you very happy. I will serve you. I will fulfill all your likes and hobbies. You have worked hard all your life and have not received any reward in return. You could not buy the necessary clothes due to a lack of money. You only had two sets of clothes. Our family has always had financial difficulties.

So you have never been able to live in peace. I remember when I was in college, I was about to drop out of school due to a lack of money and you used to save money for me. I never tried to figure out how you saved the money. I just took the money I needed. But the day I found out that you had always saved money for me to buy your medicine, I cried a lot you didn't know.

You have always accepted sacrifice for me and our family. I understood everything, I felt your pain. But I had nothing to do. I just thought to myself, one day I will finish my studies and get a good job and earn a lot of money and take away all our troubles. There were different types of financial difficulties in the family at different times and you had to endure a lot of hardships to deal with them. Because Dad was indifferent to us. He could not make money.

I would be very worried to see your upset face. Seeing your danger, I thought, 'If I could do a good job, I could help you!' But I had nothing to do but worry about you. You have helped me financially to continue my studies despite many difficulties and obstacles. I was just waiting for you to get rid of all your sorrows and troubles.

Now I have finished my studies and got a very good job, mother. I am earning a good amount of money. But you are not here today. Today I have a lot of money but I cannot fulfill your small desires. Because you are not sad now. Maybe you are looking at me as a star in the sky. You left me and went to heaven.

All your life you have left the world with a lot of hardships. You may see my tears and feel the feelings in my mind. I wanted to take away all your troubles. I wanted to keep you very happy. But you did not give me the time to fulfill that hope. I do not know if you can see my letter? If you could see, you could feel the longing in my mind.

I never said I love you so much with my mouth. But today I want to say, 'I love you so much, mother'. Be very good and happy in heaven.

Your Loving Son

Shawon

Family
2

About the Creator

Mehedi Hasan Shawon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Very touching!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.