Confessions logo

Dear Mama

What your little doggie needs you to know

By Jason ProvencioPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Mama, let's have a little talk. Just you and me.

Dear Mama,

It's me, Libby. I wanted to tell you some things before Mother's Day. It's easier for me to type this letter out to you, even with my little baby paws, as Daddy calls them. Mainly because I don't speak Hoo-man.

I appreciate all you do for me. All you do for our whole family. It's a lot. I see how tired you are when you come home after a long day of helping people with their mental health. I get so excited because you're my person. Daddy takes good care of me when you're gone at the office, but it's not the same.

That's why I bark like crazy when you come in the door. I know you get annoyed by it sometimes, it's loud, yappy, and excessive. But it's just because I love you so much and I'm so happy to see you. You'll notice my little tail is wagging the entire time I bark so much. I feel like the party has finally started once you're home!

Once you change and get comfortable, it's WE time. This is why I have to sit on you. I know that Daddy says I'm acting like I'm on a throne. I have to confess, I don't like it when he calls me "Queenie". Or "Perch". I wish you both understood that I do this because of how much I love you.

If I could keep you with me in place forever, I would. Photo credit: Author

I sit on you so you won't get up. I love laying on you because that's my happy place. I wish I was heavy enough to keep you down as long as possible. But I realize I can only do so much, being a small dog.

I know that Daddy and the kids don't like that I bark at them if they approach you. Worse yet, if they go to hug you. You all think I'm being defensive and protective about you. But here's another confession:

I do it because I'm jealous. I feel as though you are MINE. I know that Daddy and the kids would never hurt you. I love them, too. But it breaks my tiny dog heart to see them loving on you. That's why I whine and cry about it.

I know it shouldn't bother me. I should be happy that we have a loving family. I get that they think they love you as much as I do. Even though they're wrong.

Remember at the old house, when you'd go in the office with the sliding mirror doors, and shut yourself in there when you were talking to your clients on the phone? And how I'd sit on the other end of the door, staring at myself in the mirror? I looked sad. I could tell because I was face-to-face with my reflection. And I WAS sad.

All I wanted was to be in the office with you. It's ok, I waited for you. Photo credit: Author

I didn't like that I couldn't be in there with you when you were working. That's why I'd put my little baby paws and my nose right up against the door. I was waiting for you. Your clients need you, but I need you more.

Another thing I feel I should confess is that I'm not the biggest fan of when you play rough with me. When you roll me around, squish my face, or yell that you love me. I'm ten years old now. Sometimes I feel like the little old lady I'm becoming.

I do put up with it though because I love you and I want you to be happy.

If you need to squish me to love on me sometimes, I accept that. You're my person. Photo credit: Author

It goes both ways. We both know I do things that irritate you, as well. The laundry routine comes to mind. That's another thing I must confess. I can't stand it when you fold the laundry.

You get up from our comfy spot, lay the blanket down on the bed to cover up my hair, and I know it's that time. You make me move back but I keep crawling forward an inch at a time until I'm finally right in the middle of the stacks you've folded.

G.I. Mooch, crawling past enemy lines. Reporting for laundry duty. Photo credit: Author

I don't do this because it's funny. I don't do it to make you laugh, and you always do laugh. I do it because I genuinely hate being farther away from you if only a few feet. I prefer to be as close to you as possible, even if I have to pretend I'm a stack of folded pants or shirts. I do it because I love you.

We missed being together the first half of my life when I lived over with Kiera's dad. When I started coming over every other week and met you and Daddy, it was the beginning of such happy times for me. I hope you all felt the same.

I feel that we've made up for lost time since then. Being with you all full-time the past couple of years has been my favorite. I watch you leave to work from our 2nd story window. I sense when you are coming home and often stare at the front door or through our bedroom door. Waiting for us to be together again.

It's the high point of my day when you return. When we are the first ones up having coffee and cuddling. On Mother's Day and EVERY day, I just want you to know how much I love you and what you mean to me. You're my whole world.

I don't know how much time we have left together. A dog's life isn't nearly as long as a hoo-man's life. I don't want you to be sad when our time together ends. I have had a far better and happier life because you loved me as much as you d0. I need you to know that I feel exactly the same way about you.

Love,

Libby (Mooch)

My happy place, with my person.

Family
1

About the Creator

Jason Provencio

78x Top Writer on Medium. I love blogging about family, politics, relationships, humor, and writing. Read my blog here! &:^)

https://medium.com/@Jason-P/membership

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.