Confessions logo

Dear Journal

March 21, 2022/Mommy Dearest

By Latoya Giles Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

The last few days have been so eventful. My past love is back! I think I told you that last time. Guess that shows how excited I am. You know what though? I am gonna say that I am cautiously excited. Remember, I had already resigned myself to the idea that I will be single until I die. When the girls grow up and move out, I will have a dog. Cats have been growing on me lately though. My neighbor has one. He is fat and cute. He is murder on my allergies though, the kids too. Sometimes our allergies act up even when we take Benedryl. I don't know...

My mom got upset. I told you about it the other day. The littlest one is set to start riding the school bus this afternoon since mom quit. Her school counselor said she will be assigned a "bus buddy". That is very reassuring. Her sister and I are so worried about her being scared or kids being mean to her. We will find out soon. So, I am driving to work as I usually do, when my phone goes off. My messages come up on the screen in the car if my phone is plugged in with the USB. My phone is always plugged in because I listen to Apple Music instead of the radio. Anyway, I get a text message. It is from my mom. She asked if I needed her to pick up the littlest one from school. At first I was pissed because she playing with me. Well, in all honesty, I actually think either my dad told her how mean she is being to her grand-kids and daughter, or she is getting lonely already. Either way though, I already made arrangements for transportation. I texted her back to tell her that I do not have time to wait for her and her emotions. I had to (and have) make arrangements for transportation so our lives can continue smoothly. The changes she caused were abrupt and on purpose. She hoped I would not have options and would have to beg her for help. Not this time! Another shout out to the universe and God himself for looking out for my kids and me. I am so grateful.

My work schedule change has been approved and will take effect in less than two weeks. My birthday is coming around that time too. I will be 37 years young. I refuse to let my mother or anyone else for that matter, steal my new found peace. I am making progress in my life: mentally, spiritually, financially and physically. I am so proud of my daughters for stepping up and adjusting to these changes like champs. I smile at them. I hug them. I tell them how proud I am of them and how much I love them. I also tell them how strong they are. I reassured them. "We got this!", I say. They smile and say, "we sure do mommy!"

I confided in my neighbor and my daughters godmother about the things are going on right now. They provided me an ear to listen and offered their help and support if we need it. I may have to take them up on their offers because when my oldest goes back to school herself, she will no longer be able to put her sister on the school bus in the morning because her school starts an hour before the littlest one. It is all good. My faith is unwavering. I said we got this, and I mean WE GOT THIS!

Until next time my dear journal...

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.