Confessions logo

Confession: I am an apocaloptimist

Ten ways to thrive in a global pandemic

By Soleira GreenPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
5

Confession: I am an apocaloptimst. I saw a post on Facebook using this brand new word and I thought oh yes, that perfectly describes me. I watch all manner of zombie & world-coming-to-an-end movies. Why? Because I love to see how script writers remake communities and societies in the face of devastating circumstances. I’ve always been fascinated by ways to redesign the world to be ever more awesome. In fact, I call myself a future innovator (betcha never heard that one before!).

This obsession with a wonderful future probably began as a young child when my father taught me that everything always turns out all right in the end. And you know, believing that has made it so in every instance of my life so far … including my ability to thrive in our current (2020-2021) global pandemic.

When this pandemic began I watched mesmerised as every street became quiet, as people moved from high rise offices to working from home, as cruise ships stopped sailing the oceans, as dolphins returned to the Venice canals and animals roamed city streets. Our climate began to improve. People sang and clapped from their balconies. And we began to pay attention to the condition of our health and the strength of our immune systems.

Delivery services rose into prominence. Masks became available as an essential item. Many businesses innovated themselves, some went on line, others introduced outdoor wine bars and eateries. The number of on line entrepreneurs skyrocketed as people sought new abundance streams to supplement their income. Communities came together to help those who struggled to help themselves. And yes hospitals became overwhelmed and a lot of good people died. Many blessings to our doctors, nurses and all those who lost loved ones during this time.

Me, I have always lived a kind of charmed life, most likely because of that simple phrase my father taught me all those years ago. So when the pandemic hit, my on line coaching business continued to thrive and I became one of the writers offering out a glimpse of the positive and of a hopeful, thriving future. I took on the possibility of super health and bought myself a juicer for the organic foods being delivered straight from the farm to our door. I learned to cook (first time in 71 years). I hosted Zoom parties for our buddies to celebrate life and zing up life for all around the world. Our Christmas 2020 Zoom party was the best as we exchanged fun presents all across the world and opened them together on line. I began to host paid membership groups on line to empower people who want to live magically and make the world an ever more awesome place for all to thrive. I had more time to write, so my husband and I co-wrote a book called ‘Becoming Super Humans’ and hosted a free Facebook group sharing live videos of us talking about how to thrive and evolve during what we see as a quantum evolutionary shift.

All in all, it’s been a spectacular year and a half, and that even includes my husband having a triple bypass operation for a heart attack. He is now 5.5 months post op and healthy as a horse. Miraculously, the chronic rhinitis / asthma that he was diagnosed with for 9 years has mysteriously disappeared to be replaced by a new sense of health and breath. See, my dad was right again. Everything always turns out all right in the end.

That phrase has led me to be a catalyst for potential and possibility to emerge no matter the circumstances. As a coach I help people turn trauma into transformation, move chaos into creation and source their own genius to innovate their lives. So here are my ten ways to thrive in a global pandemic if you feel inclined to follow along the pathways that my father’s guidance began….

1. Keep your energy high in ways that delight you, be that dancing, movie watching, walking in the woods, gardening, being creative, etc.

2. See the good things happening around you. If you only watch the news you’ll be overwhelmed by the shock and horror they portray. Search for the positives. Watch for the good in people. On Facebook there’s a group called The Kindness Pandemic and another called View From My Window … together these two gave me hope during lockdown moments that the world was going to turn out fine.

3. Focus on your health. That might mean eating healthier, exercising more, taking vitamin supplements, juicing or any manner of healthy lifestyle choices. Especially do things that will boost your natural immune system.

4. Don’t stress about it all. When those thoughts arise, take several deep breaths and focus on something you love. That will always open the flood gates for happiness vibes to soar in you. And that is always better for you, those around you and for the world.

5. Discover what you truly love and set yourself to make that a part of your life. Doing what you love makes a huge difference to your health, vitality and general love of life.

6. Let your genius soar. Everyone has genius in them and yours will be unique from everyone else’s. Find fabulous, fun ways to express yours and you’ll be delighted with the results.

7. Be innovative. When bringing your genius to the world, don’t try to be a copy cat of how someone else does it. Think outside the box and have some fun juicing up ways to get your genius working for you.

8. Choose to love your life and this beautiful world we get to live in. Something happens inside you when you fall in love with life. Sort of like in Star Wars, ‘the Force’ comes to enhance the flow of you and enrich the possibilities of your life.

9. Contribute to others. I believe this one is essential to really feeling good about yourself. It doesn’t mean you have to be selfless and overwhelmed by helping others. It means make a difference by doing things you love that can empower others to thrive.

10. And finally, BELIEVE in yourself, BELIEVE in the future. Know that the Universe has our backs and that everything has a greater purpose behind it. By believing that and orienting to finding that greater purpose right away, you can bypass all the struggle and trauma that comes with learning how to be better care takers for ourselves, our families and the world.

I hope that by reading my story that you too are becoming an apocaloptimist, one who sees the best in people, who is a catalyst for potential and a creator of life as we would all love it to be. Here’s to a future in which all life is healthy, connected and thriving in more ways than we can even yet imagine.

Humanity
5

About the Creator

Soleira Green

I love writing & have written a book called 'The Genius Game' (one of 10 books currently published). I love empowering people to unleash their brilliance into the world. Discover more about me at https://www.soleiragreen.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.