Confessions logo

Chuggin Through Life

The acceleration of my brain

By Alina LukePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Train in middle with rocks on left and right of train (designed by: Alina Luke)

There are many times in life where I had believed I finally found my final destination and landed the future I had dreamed of.

Slowly, but surely, did I realize that there was a lot more to life than one could fathom.

The degree was done, the applications were filed, companies had started recruiting, yet I was far from close to finishing.

So much more needs to be felt and seen by my eyes and hands in order to finally find the proper job meant for a person like me, who multitasks like crazy, has a mind constantly running on a marathon known as life.

As time passes by, I recount and reminisce upon all the memories (good and bad) rushing through my head just like a train chugging through the train tracks, with the speed accelerating faster and faster and momentum picking up pace.

Just like how a train goes off with a chugga-chugga-choo-choo, my brain goes off with a tikka-tikka-shoo-shoo rhythm.

I have no idea when it my brain, heart, and soul started on this go go go regime and mindset.

Perhaps, it started long ago without my knowing.

Perhaps, it was like this since the start.

If I went to explain to people how busy how a lifestyle I live, very few would understand until I go into the nitty gritty details within my stories and episodes in life.

When I felt already successful enough, it never felt good enough.

In a struggle of deciding whether I have already done the best I could and whether I can do better is a barrier, subsequently, a wall I need to leap over and conquer over.

Over and over again, I would tell and reassure myself I already did the best I could.

However, what is considered to be the best?

Is it to be the top of the class? Is it to be number one in every subject?

Turns out long ago, I already decided it was not possible to be the best in every little trifling matter.

Long ago, I had also decided that, as long as I tried my best in accomplishing the goals of mine I was trying to accomplish and still have the ability to get through life just fine, while maintaining a fairly decent balance between fun and work, that would be my version of being the best person I could be.

Although everyone's version of what the best entails, there is no doubt that even the individuals who have not accomplished a lot in their lives can obtain a decent education, job, and beautiful future awaiting them.

Who says having a happy, fulfilling future is an easy path to take? Who says there are no obstacles to life?

You would be surprised how many people in this world have difficulty with carving out a probable future they dreamt of.

Things don't always go as planned. Neither does the future.

Even when situations are going smooth and looking fine, when individuals go behind the scenes to touch up on the minute details to create the beautiful situations unfolding right before our very eyes, sometimes, we will never know of their contributions until much later.

Now, why is this?

Think about the number of people onboard the train.

How many are passengers? How many are train conductors?

Every hour, there are approximately 8,100 passengers, with only one or two train conductors, where one of them is usually an engineer.

Now, think about the mechanics of a train and how many individuals are needed to maintain and keep the functions of the train intact.

It is simply mind-blowing to think about the number of people working behind the scenes.

It is even more mind-blowing to think about how our brains process information.

Just like how my brain runs through information like a train going through a series of train tracks, my heart races through like horses treading along the luscious green pastures.

Humanity
2

About the Creator

Alina Luke

"Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened." ~Ludwig Jacobowski~

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Just Daniel2 years ago

    Great! Just keep chugging ^___^

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.