Confessions logo

Brainfart

The writer's struggle

By Jasmin McCardellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Brainfart
Photo by Austin Tate on Unsplash

Oh look, another writer's block! great! let me go pull my hair out, pace back and fourth for hours, and keep creating fictional scenarios in my head that I ultimately do not use. Honestly, why am I overthinking this? Just... type out what's in your head Jazz- wow I should really consider getting my nails done- wait what?!

See, there's my problem! Distractions! I want to focus on writing about a lush tree that produces the most extravagant pears blessed onto mankind, but how? I can't even keep my thoughts straight. The first roadblock I run into while writing stories, and I suddenly want to remember everything that is supposed to be forgotten. Did I unplug the iron? Wonder how my toxic ex is doing? Oh crap, did I pay that bill this month? Should I get another dog? The answer to that last question is always yes.

There are minds out there that created cars, airplanes, even peanut butter! Yet, you mean to tell me that my mind is struggling to focus on writing a short story about pears. Or was it supposed to be about a tree that grows pears? Or did I just have to mention something about trees that grow stuff on it? Or do specifics even matter?!... *Furiously rushes back to read the assignment* Oh look at that, I think I might have actually met the requirements. Well, look at me go!

I got this. I can do this! No one believes in the writer's work more than the writer themselves. No matter how terrible, or how wonderful, this is a craft carved from our minds that we somehow institute our personal feelings, and emotions that allow our readers to escape from the responsibilities of reality. Yes, This what we do, that is why we do it. The passion of creating different outcomes in a impossible world, as such wonders constantly race through our minds. The ability to possibly write about how humans currently coexist with dinosaurs, or a world where everything is made from chocolate.

The possibilities are endless, and once again, here I am still struggling about how to go about writing a simple story about a pear tree. Wait! That's it! Just like that, it was as if I could here the click in my brain that finally put two and two together. I CAN write about anything, so why not- stay with me here- write about the struggle of maintaining the creativity within the story?

That's perfect! Incorporate the struggles of writer's block. Let us reveal why it takes us all night to wrap up a story. Unravel the secrets of why most writers are usually up until 2,3,4 in the morning perfecting their craft, shall we? Allow me to break it down like this, you have this kid, you want so much for your kid to be all things perfect and wonderful in life. So! There comes the expensive piano lessons, the cheerleading or footballs practices, the perfect grades, the well developed social life, healthy living, and scholarships offers. Years are invested to make sure they are brought up to be a productive member of society.

This is what a writer wishes to achieve with their work; create it, go over multiple scenarios, choose the better storyline, edit it, have a second set of eyes read it, revise some more, then finally, publish. One can only hope that the story will become a productive work of art for society to read in admiration. Once we get past our struggles to push through our blocks that is.

What adds a little sprinkle of crazy to this process, is that we love every moment, and every bit of that struggle. why? Don't know, couldn't tell ya, but I now know one thing for certain. I can now push through this writer's block on mine.

So! I am going to sit this tushy of mine on this overpriced, but comfortable couch, prop my feet up on this somewhat tasteful ottoman, place my laptop in... my lap. Then break it down for you guys what exactly a writer struggles to do to complete their story. Your ready?! Here we go!

"Oh look, another writer's block! Great!"

Bad habits
2

About the Creator

Jasmin McCardell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.